SB800 or SB600?

rodel

Sep 22, 2006
Which is value for money? SB800 or SB600?

What are the main differences on the two?

:) cheers:)

tell me please

Value for money - SB600

Versatility, functionality, etc. - SB800

Go to Nikon website and do a side-by-side comparison. See whichever specs fits you and your pocket/wallet/purse... go for it!

If you are going to use it as a controller for future expansion into CLS, then look at the SB-800. It can work as a master flash controller which can control the rest of the flash guns which you may get later on. SB-600's would suffice for the slaves.

But if you are looking at a simple flash unit for normal usage, then the SB-600 may be good enough. Using re-chargable batteries, they should last you well with decent refresh rate. Do remember not to stress it too much with low ISO and small apertures and high flash rate...

Got money SB800(600+), no money SB600(350+)..simple as tat..:D

Technically:
More functions is being offered by the SB800..is there any better speedlight from Nikon? Not tat any i noe of..Operational wise, both are equivalently easy to use..do read manual after purchase..;)

If you are going to use it as a controller for future expansion into CLS, then look at the SB-800. It can work as a master flash controller which can control the rest of the flash guns which you may get later on. SB-600's would suffice for the slaves.

But if you are looking at a simple flash unit for normal usage, then the SB-600 may be good enough. Using re-chargable batteries, they should last you well with decent refresh rate. Do remember not to stress it too much with low ISO and small apertures and high flash rate...

Wah bro..ppl buying first speedlight..and u poison him wif CLS..:bsmilie:

Hehehehe...

must remind him that there is this option mah... hehe ;)

SB800 with body like d200 you can already do CLS. :bsmilie:

But most of the time I use manual and remote. :dunno:

YMMV

YMMV

Wah chim! remote i can understand..(mainly IR or radio) but wats manual?
Correct me if i interpreted the whole thing wrongly..

Wah chim! remote i can understand..(mainly IR or radio) but wats manual?
Correct me if i interpreted the whole thing wrongly..

Manual mode as in not using TTL/i-TTL and Auto mode, so u set ur brightness manually (1/1 - 1/128) according to judgement or experience.

orh..ic..i tot longkangman got some special technique to share..

go to nikon website and do a flash comparison between the SB600 & SB800.

I was also choosing between either and decided to get the SB-800. No regrets. with the 5th battery attachment, and longer range, it suits me. Don't know how the SB-600 performs, cause never use it. Anyway, i only use 1 flash at any one time so far.

SB-600 is defintely value for money, but always, if you have enuff $$$, go for SB-800.

Just a qn though, in terms of flash performance like lighting, exposure, and color, are the two flashes the same?

SB-600 is defintely value for money, but always, if you have enuff $$$, go for SB-800.

Just a qn though, in terms of flash performance like lighting, exposure, and color, are the two flashes the same?

SB600 max zoom 85mm
SB800 max zoom 105mm

SB600 min manual power 1/64
SB800 min manual power 1/128

In terms of flash power, SB800 is better, it gives a higher GN..

SB800 additional feature-auto flash and multi/strobe and commander mode

YMMV

With D200, you dun even need SB-800... just use the body as a master and you can control up to 2 groups of slaves... ;)

If you and hoobyist and want wallet friendly = SB600
If you are pro or you can't stand peer pressure or have deep pocket = SB800

:lovegrin:

With D200, you dun even need SB-800... just use the body as a master and you can control up to 2 groups of slaves... ;)

D70s are able to do so also rite? But how many slaves can D70s and D200 take??

Value for Money...Sb800

Waste of Money...Sb600

SB600 max zoom 85mm
SB800 max zoom 105mm

SB600 min manual power 1/64
SB800 min manual power 1/128

In terms of flash power, SB800 is better, it gives a higher GN..

SB800 additional feature-auto flash and multi/strobe and commander mode

That I know...

Maybe I ask in the wrong way, I was thinking whether the two flashes give the same result under a controlled environment, like something that both the flash can do, which means not beyond SB-600's power range, etc.

If yes, then I see no point getting a SB-800 if money is not enuff, though.:sweat:

That I know...

Maybe I ask in the wrong way, I was thinking whether the two flashes give the same result under a controlled environment, like something that both the flash can do, which means not beyond SB-600's power range, etc.

If yes, then I see no point getting a SB-800 if money is not enuff, though.:sweat:

simple as to say..whatever the SB600 can do, SB800 oso can do..but not everything the SB800 can do, the SB600 can oso do..