Anywhere selling strip heaters?

newbiegrapher

Jun 18, 2005
westz
Hi guys..got something to ask. Duno this question chim or not.
I wish to know if there are any companies in Sg selling Strip Heaters, those that can bend acrylic and NOT metal. If yes, then give me the link to the websites or their company's tel. no. . Cant seem to find it in the net, only can find those that bend metals.
Thanks alot... :)

Thought rscomp got sell strip heater, can check out.

hmmm i tried tat site already but its not the type of strip heater that im looking for..
thanks anyway :)

bend acrylic not use strip heaters... jfyi... but dun tell u which 1 leh... :devil:

anyway, depends on the budget, and also the length of the heater u need, shortest length is about 21" length, to about my max length i can produce is 4metres (think u won't find such long acrylic anyway... u'll just need a thermostat control, if feeling rich or doing 'precise' digital controllers can be used. Dun have to use high temp ones, acrylic u dun melt them, u just soften them then bend. sometimes mix & match, do your own DIY, price is below 100-200.

Follow my style la, DIY at home. Tried before no problem. Unless you mass production at home.

Find 2 solid piece of tiles that withstand heat and put parallel leaving a small gap on the stove. Tada...your strip heater.

bend acrylic not use strip heaters... jfyi... but dun tell u which 1 leh... :devil:

anyway, depends on the budget, and also the length of the heater u need, shortest length is about 21" length, to about my max length i can produce is 4metres (think u won't find such long acrylic anyway... u'll just need a thermostat control, if feeling rich or doing 'precise' digital controllers can be used. Dun have to use high temp ones, acrylic u dun melt them, u just soften them then bend. sometimes mix & match, do your own DIY, price is below 100-200.

dominator said:
Follow my style la, DIY at home. Tried before no problem. Unless you mass production at home.

Find 2 solid piece of tiles that withstand heat and put parallel leaving a small gap on the stove. Tada...your strip heater.

heihei...gd ideas guys, will ask friend to Tink bout it.. ;)

beware of soot... :bsmilie: anyway, dun remove the protective cover b4 bending.

Take a scroll down sim lim tower.

sub_pic_cart.jpg

anyway, lazy to take pics... t.s will need know which 1 he need... hehe.

won't the paper catch fire? I always thought the paper shd be removed before heating.

beware of soot... :bsmilie: anyway, dun remove the protective cover b4 bending.

won't the paper catch fire? I always thought the paper shd be removed before heating.

if u place it near, it will, cos fire is hard to control hence use heater, u dun have to use high temperature to soften acrylic. bare flame from gas is about 600-800degree C, so u put if further away its ok. For heaters, you can use temperature controllers to maintain temperature to about 120-180degree C.

I've tested, the paper does not catch fire, sometimes when bending it may stretch and tear, thats all... u can even put the entire piece into the oven and soften it, then place into a mold to form shapes.

anyway my line is make heaters, not acrylic, haha... so i play acrylic for fun only... dun quote me... :devil:

I see, but whats the advantage of leaving the paper on?

if u place it near, it will, cos fire is hard to control hence use heater, u dun have to use high temperature to soften acrylic. bare flame from gas is about 600-800degree C, so u put if further away its ok. For heaters, you can use temperature controllers to maintain temperature to about 120-180degree C.

I've tested, the paper does not catch fire, sometimes when bending it may stretch and tear, thats all... u can even put the entire piece into the oven and soften it, then place into a mold to form shapes.

anyway my line is make heaters, not acrylic, haha... so i play acrylic for fun only... dun quote me... :devil:

I see, but whats the advantage of leaving the paper on?

I also leave the paper on. Better, since during process can prevent handling scratches, the paper can draw lines and markings. When everything finish then remove paper...all sui sui!

DCA "watlow"??? :devil:

I also leave the paper on. Better, since during process can prevent handling scratches, the paper can draw lines and markings. When everything finish then remove paper...all sui sui!

DCA "watlow"??? :devil:

mine "highwatt" hahahahahahahaa... watlow dun manufacture in sg lor... (better zip up b4 i get shoot by watlow ppl)

another advantage of putting paper on is to prevent discoloration from burning... but over burning kinda discoloration is just too bad...

heihei thanks again for the replies. No choice...I help my friend to email MOE D&T side to enquire (hehe ONz or not?) about where they got the strip heaters from. The replier ask me to identify myself :dunno: but got a tel no. with it.
Anyway i gave him the tel no. liao so i think he can have a good talk and settle it himself liaoz.. :bsmilie:

Put in micro wave oven can anot?:dunno: