How come dust can get into lens ?

Circus1

Jun 14, 2006
I saw some lens being sold at Ebay and was wondering how dust got into them? Are some not sealed properly? I just bought myself D70s and a bit concern with dust getting into it. :eek:

Thanks

welcome to the world of reality:) hehehehe

confirm got dust one lah

lense no dust not called lense liao

There is no escaping dust. It will always be in your lens and camera body. Live with it.

slooow said:
welcome to the world of reality:) hehehehe

confirm got dust one lah

lense no dust not called lense liao

yours dusty... mine only specks... sometimes lucky, specks on side... yours prominent? :bsmilie:

Circus1 said:
I saw some lens being sold at Ebay and was wondering how dust got into them? Are some not sealed properly? I just bought myself D70s and a bit concern with dust getting into it. :eek:

Thanks

well...welcome to the world of dust...:sticktong

so the dust is inside the lens? sorry i don't really understand ....quite new to dslr too and hoping there's someway to prevent such from happening ....do the shaking things being implemented by oly, sony, canon etc help?

This one cannot prevent one?? Dust on sensor can clean but on lens how? Will it affect the image captured? :think:

puppet: a spec of dust in the pic below

how come dust can get into lens? cos unless your in those clean rooms, there's bound to be some dust floating in the air somewhere.. IIRC, when your using a lens, zooming, focusing etc, there would be some movements of air into the lens? correct me if I'm wrong..

majere2sg said:
Some dust in the lens will not affect quality of image. Even brand new lens have some dust in them. Dun worry too much and start shooting. :thumbsup:

Yes, have seen brand new lens with dust inside. Hard to avoid if you're living on earth....:bsmilie: Most won't affect your images, unless they're BIG specks!

dun worry bout dust if it didnt spoils yr images...
juz shoot more and worry less..

Just need to do regular cleaning. Dust is apart of our world. Unless we live in a vacuum or clean room environment. particles are everywhere. Infact, we might be considered dust on earth, if we are small enough...;)

When your focusing ring turns or your zoom ring turns, your camera suck in air which may contain microscopic particles. Other than that, it may be a factory defect

im more worried about sensor dust over dust inside lenses... :sweat:
at least sensor dust even small speck will show up when you shoot sunset or something similiar.

im more worried about sensor dust over dust inside lenses... :sweat:
at least sensor dust even small speck will show up when you shoot sunset or something similiar.

especially when yr apenture is set to small.. :cry: