Thread: Focusing Screen advice..

A-hah~! Finally had the guts to post this up.. Considering I'm still a noob, was afraid people might bash me for wanting to "mod" my DSLR so fast.. :P

Well, I realised I fell in love with manual lenses, as somehow it gives me the feeling of "syiok-ness", and a pseudo "pro" feeling in confirmation of a sharp picture, when I get one, and also the complete control of it.

But prob is, it may be too slow for quick, candid shots, and the 3 sec pose of friends. So am thinking of getting a focusing screen in replace of my K-r's original one. I've read up on issues of "black out" when in small apertures or something like that, if I were to use those split focus screen..

On top of that, there seems to be a myriad of designs, microprism/diagonals/horizontals, and suppliers, KatzEye.. Kinda giving me a headache.. Haha!

So, anyone has any recommendation of which one to get?

PS: Ooh, I kinda like the diagonal ones better, or the 4-section ones..
    Last edited by SyncGuy; 13th October 2011 at 12:44 PM.
    Pentax Kr, Pentax Super A
    K105/2.8, Fa*24/2, A28/2, A35/2, A50/1.4, A*85/1.4, A100/2.8, A135/2.8

Default Re: Focusing Screen advice..

well i'm no pro, but since you already mentioned you liked the diagonal ones better, i guess you have sort of answered your own question already?

Better to check in the Pentax Sub-forum since you are using a Kr.

I have a K3 screen from 'Focusing Screen' (ie. the brand). Its about $120.
    There are others online or even from Orient Photo.

You may need to use the shims provided by the focusing screen to get correct alignment between screen and focus plane.
    Split prism area gets dark only if the aperture stops down when you adjust it (eg. M42 mount lenses; Takumars). If you are using lenses that have the aperture lever (ie. L, M, A, FA, DA) series lenses, then its a non-issue.

Hi ts, u r right. I love manual lens also.. Bcos u get more involved..