Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Graphic card comparison.

  1. #1

    Lightbulb Graphic card comparison.

    hi, i am thinking of getting a low-end Dell PC with Intel Integrated Extreme Graphics 2. Compared to a mid-range PC with a 128MB PCIe 16 ATI Radeon X300 SE. Although I do not do online gaming, will ATI Radeon help in any way with my intended activities of viewing digital pics and doing Photoshop. views appreciated.

  2. #2

    Default

    I think an external card will, the extreme graphics shares your system memory, while a separate card has its own memory.

    If you're not too worried about having a single source of support, a cheaper option may be to "build" a system from ground up. What you actually do is go to a shop in Sim Lim Square, pick and choose which components you want, and the shop will build the system for you in about 1-2 hours. Only thing is that if any component fails, you need to go to the correct place for warranty service, eg. DVD with TDK, memory with Kingston, etc.

    But in most cases, you'll get better bang for the buck with this approach.

    However, when retailers like Dell have a sale, the prices could be very competitive.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    334

    Default

    Viewing images and photo manipulation only require 2D graphics. Using shared memory should have negligible effect on 2D graphics performance. I believe the difference in quality of the RAMDAC for 2D graphics between different graphics chips should not be discernable these days.

    The limitation of Intel Extreme 2 graphics is with very high resolution displays. For instance, the RAMDAC suppors the following resolutions:
    • 640 x 480, 16M colors (60, 72, 75, 85, 100, 120 Hz)
    • 800 x 600, 16M colors (60, 72, 75, 85, 100, 120 Hz)
    • 1024 x 768, 16M colors (60, 70, 75, 85, 100, 120 Hz)
    • 1152 x 864, 16M colors (60, 75, 85, 100 Hz)
    • 1280 x 1024, 16M colors (60, 75, 85, 100 Hz)
    • 1600 x 1200, 16M colors (60 Hz)
    • 1920x 1440, 64K colors (60, 75 Hz)
    • 2048 x 1536, 64K colors (60 Hz)


    If you have a large CRT monitor that supports 1600 x 1200 or higher resolutions, you will be getting a headache from the low refresh rate.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    It depends how much RAM you allocate for your graphic card, you can have up to 2048 x 1536 32bit true colour at 75Hz


    At 1600 x 1200, you can have as high as 120Hz too


    One of my PC is using Intel Extreme Graphic, this is the older one, not the Extreme2 or GMA900. I have hook it up to 21" CRT and 20" LCD that support 1600 x 1200, I can run at 1600 x 1200 @ 85Hz without problem, that's the highest that my CRT can support, but many low to mid range 21" CRT can only do 1600 x 1200 @ 60Hz, therefore the refresh rate is never a problem if you allocate enough RAM for graphic, most of the time it is the monitor that cannot take the high refresh rate, that's why these settings will be hidden, just in case you accidentally set the wrong refresh rate and mess up everything

  5. #5

    Default

    what you said is missing me. not a techie, sorry. i am planning to get a low end dell 17'' crt. Ram 512MB. any issues?

  6. #6

    Default

    The RAMDAC only determines the output display frequencies at a supported resolution.

    The maximum resolution and colordepth depends on the available video memory on the card.

    The ATI Radeon might have a mild improvement in 2D redrawing speed when viewing realtime adjustments on huge image files, scrolling the image windows and such, especially when you are working at high resolutions. ATI and Matrox have traditionally excelled at 2D rendering speed and image quality.

    If you have to budget for it, why not?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    if u can..wait for the next creative warehouse sales and get the Creative Picture Perfect graphic card for $79

    http://asia.creative.com/products/pr...duct=164&nav=1

    Featureing 3Dlabs' VPU, it is suppose to make photoshop...etc run faster than normal ATI and nVidia cards

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    i
    Featureing 3Dlabs' VPU, it is suppose to make photoshop...etc run faster than normal ATI and nVidia cards
    It requires the software to support it. Adobe has not announced any support so there will unlikely be any improvements.

    The only thing that works with it now is its own bundled panaroma maker software.

    OT:This product has taken way too long to market since the 3dlabs acquisition and judging from the lack of buzz is unlikely to garner any serious support from the main software companies.

  9. #9

    Default

    the pro has spoken....
    all bow

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    It depends how much RAM you allocate for your graphic card, you can have up to 2048 x 1536 32bit true colour at 75Hz


    At 1600 x 1200, you can have as high as 120Hz too


    One of my PC is using Intel Extreme Graphic, this is the older one, not the Extreme2 or GMA900. I have hook it up to 21" CRT and 20" LCD that support 1600 x 1200, I can run at 1600 x 1200 @ 85Hz without problem, that's the highest that my CRT can support, but many low to mid range 21" CRT can only do 1600 x 1200 @ 60Hz, therefore the refresh rate is never a problem if you allocate enough RAM for graphic, most of the time it is the monitor that cannot take the high refresh rate, that's why these settings will be hidden, just in case you accidentally set the wrong refresh rate and mess up everything

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Anyway, just tried 2048 x 1536 32bit true colour at 75Hz on a 15" CRT

    It works!

    But there is a "crop" factor, the monitor is still running at 1024 x 768, but the desktop resolution is 2048 x 1536, so you have to move the mouse to the side of the screen, then the desktop will scroll accordingly, quite useful if you have to work on high res photo, no need to scroll so much

  11. #11

    Lightbulb

    thank you very much for your inputs. appreciated.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •