Thread: Tripod on plane

Default Tripod on plane

Hi, I am asking of anyone here has experience with traveling to oversea with the tripod hand-carried. I have a new tripod recently and it cannot fit into my luggage bag so I am planning to bring it onto plane as hand carried luggage (Shoulder sling as I got a stripe tied to it), but I am not sure if can pass through the custom or not.

Default Re: Tripod on plane

Thread 1 Thread 2 Thread 3 and many more from Google.

hope that helped. =)
    Last edited by nissanmanic; 9th October 2011 at 08:33 PM.
    i'm a noob | APWP 2012

Quote Originally Posted by nissanmanic View Post
    Thread 1 Thread 2 Thread 3 and many more from Google.

hope that helped. =)
    Thanks alot, I tried to find it google, but most result I gotten are smaller tripod that can strap to the bag.(The tripod is till my hip height with few cm to my belly button. I am 1.72m tall) I am quite sure the smaller tripod are of no problem and I can even put them in the luggage and check in.
    Last edited by wootsk; 9th October 2011 at 08:46 PM.

hk customs requires you to check in your tripod. USA customs allows tripod to be carried onto planes.

Most airlines have the right to ask you to check in your tripod, as it is not stated whether a tripod is allowed as hand-carry luggage. Most of the time they will shut one eye, but you have to be prepared to be asked to check in the tripod. To be safe, I often put the tripod into the check-in luggage.

Have you tried the following?
    - Remove the tripod head
    - Place diagonally
    - Use a larger luggage

Other than a Berlebach and the really really large metal tripods such as Manfrotto 055, I don't foresee any major issues with placing your tripod legs into the luggage. You can always find room to slot in your ballhead/3-way head into hand carry or the luggage as well.

Quote Originally Posted by edutilos- View Post