Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

  1. #1
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    I'm deciding between brand new d700 or 2nd hand D3. I had done my research on the different spec. But 1 thing that is bothering me is the image sensor cleaning function. Does it affect D3 alot since it didn't come with this feature.

  2. #2
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by Akira Fudou View Post
    I'm deciding between brand new d700 or 2nd hand D3. I had done my research on the different spec. But 1 thing that is bothering me is the image sensor cleaning function. Does it affect D3 alot since it didn't come with this feature.
    I don't think it's a huge diff, if you look after the camera well enough, and exercise due caution.
    Can always use blower
    I find sensor cleaning function not really effective most times.
    Exploring! :)

  3. #3

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    You can clean the sensor by air blower. Or by good sensor cleaning brush, just be careful.
    As long as you seldom change lens outdoor, you won't need to do sensor cleaning so often.
    NIKON D90 (2008-2010), D700 (2010-2012), D800 (2012-2014), DF (Dec 2013-Sep 2017)

  4. #4
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Just remember to be really careful when blowing the sensor or doing DIY cleaning on the D3. Because there is no AA filter on the D3. If you scratch the sensor, you have to replace the entire sensor and it will cost you very dearly...

  5. #5

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Just remember to be really careful when blowing the sensor or doing DIY cleaning on the D3. Because there is no AA filter on the D3. If you scratch the sensor, you have to replace the entire sensor and it will cost you very dearly...
    Are you sure there is no AA filter on D3 ? I don't remember that's the case.
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  6. #6
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    Are you sure there is no AA filter on D3 ? I don't remember that's the case.
    Confirmed by bro Fatigue on Friday's talk session (he who is armed by countless repair manuals and vast amount of experiences).
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  7. #7

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Confirmed by bro Fatigue on Friday's talk session (he who is armed by countless repair manuals and vast amount of experiences).
    Not unless it meant removal.

    http://bythom.com/nikond3xreview.htm
    This article is about D3x and D3, with a little mentioning about AA filter. It indicated AA filter is in D3. But there are also mentioning in other websites that the IR filter and AA filter are together in a single component that is not removable on D3. There also a lot of questions about how to remove the AA filter in D3.
    Last edited by David Kwok; 9th October 2011 at 04:42 PM.
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  8. #8
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    Not unless it meant removal.

    http://bythom.com/nikond3xreview.htm
    This article is about D3x and D3, with a little mentioning about AA filter. It indicated AA filter is in D3. But there are also mentioning in other websites that the IR filter and AA filter are together in a single component that is not removable on D3. There also a lot of questions about how to remove the AA filter in D3.
    Well, we've been wondering about this too. Anyway, hopefully bro Fatigue or anyone with the actual experience can address this question.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  9. #9
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    Not unless it meant removal.

    http://bythom.com/nikond3xreview.htm
    This article is about D3x and D3, with a little mentioning about AA filter. It indicated AA filter is in D3. But there are also mentioning in other websites that the IR filter and AA filter are together in a single component that is not removable on D3. There also a lot of questions about how to remove the AA filter in D3.
    Also confirmed by 2 other sources, one of them being Nikon Service Centre. I didn't believe it also at first. all 3 sources confirmed the same.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Also confirmed by 2 other sources, one of them being Nikon Service Centre. I didn't believe it also at first. all 3 sources confirmed the same.
    @daredevil123

    what did you managed to confirm ? There is a AA filter or there isn't ?
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  11. #11
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I just tested a d700. My first time handling a fx. I didn't know there's a dark translucent border around. Is that suppose to be the fx area while the middle part I'd dx area? It's kind of weird. Can we get rid of the dark area?

  12. #12

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by Akira Fudou View Post
    I just tested a d700. My first time handling a fx. I didn't know there's a dark translucent border around. Is that suppose to be the fx area while the middle part I'd dx area? It's kind of weird. Can we get rid of the dark area?
    What do you mean by dark translucent border around where ? the sensor ? the output of the image ? What lens are you using against the d700 ?
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  13. #13
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I'm using sigma 50mm f1.4. When I look through the viewfinder I see 2 rectangles an Inner clear one and a bigger one that is dark. Image fall under the dark border is blur. But the output Image is inclusive of the area by under the dark border. The seller told me it's normal. The dark area is fx the middle area is dx

  14. #14
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default

    The dark border is where the 51 af points can't reach.

  15. #15
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    @daredevil123

    what did you managed to confirm ? There is a AA filter or there isn't ?
    That there isn't. Coz a friend got a scratch on the sensor... wanted to get it fixed. We all thought just a replacement of AA filter will do... NSC and 2 other sources all told us there is no AA filter, the scratch is on the sensor itself, and the only way is to replace the entire sensor.
    Last edited by daredevil123; 9th October 2011 at 05:48 PM.

  16. #16
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Akira Fudou
    I'm using sigma 50mm f1.4. When I look through the viewfinder I see 2 rectangles an Inner clear one and a bigger one that is dark. Image fall under the dark border is blur. But the output Image is inclusive of the area by under the dark border. The seller told me it's normal. The dark area is fx the middle area is dx
    Quote Originally Posted by Akira Fudou
    The dark border is where the 51 af points can't reach.
    What do u mean by "image fall under the dark border...."
    The entire image should be the same brightness. There should only be lines or marks, not bright and dark rectangles.
    Confused...
    Maybe photograph w phone camera against the VF?
    Exploring! :)

  17. #17
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I check the manual page 58. It did mention about this dark area. It seem like when u activate dx crop it will appear but if u switch to fx I think it will be clear. That's what I understand.

  18. #18
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Is Image Sensor cleaning important?

    yes. but Sigma 50/1.4 should not activate DX mode.

  19. #19
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I need help immediately if its the camera fault I have to return to the seller. Anyone who can help call at 81233014

  20. #20
    Member Akira Fudou's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I confirm that the fx is on I even off the auto dx crop. No matter what settings I choose the dark area still exist the different is dx mode on the pic taken only consist of the center area. If fx, the image will be exactly what u see from the viewfinder

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •