Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: noob question on studio

  1. #1

    Default noob question on studio

    dear pros,

    I've just set up my own home studio using strobe light and realized that the lighting was quite ok. the only problem I had was the blurry image that I have received. almost 70% of my photos need editing. anyone can kindly advise me on what's going wrong? thanks so much below are the specs I used.

    dslr nikon d5100 with kit lens
    2 x 300w strobe with soft box
    focal length at 26mm
    f8 1/125 iso 200
    auto focus
    Last edited by aphro6677; 9th October 2011 at 12:36 AM. Reason: correct specs

  2. #2
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by aphro6677 View Post
    dear pros,

    I've just set up my own home studio using strobe light and realized that the lighting was quite ok. the only problem I had was the blurry image that I have received. almost 70% of my photos need editing. anyone can kindly advise me on what's going wrong? thanks so much below are the specs I used.

    dslr nikon d5100 with kit lens
    2 x 300w strobe with soft box
    focal length at 24mm
    f9 1/125 iso 200
    auto focus
    Can you post a blurry picture up here so we can see what is the problem?

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    what kind of subject are you shooting? stationary or with movement?
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4

    Default

    phototaking people... slight movement.

  5. #5
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    the studio flash is not fast enough to freeze action, if this is question you are asking.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  6. #6

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    i cant upload the file to this forum.

    pls see the image at http://www.sendspace.com/file/iis27x

  7. #7

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by aphro6677 View Post
    i cant upload the file to this forum.

    pls see the image at http://www.sendspace.com/file/iis27x
    The pic indeed looks soft at 1/125, it shouldn't be due to movement since even the shoes look soft. Only f/8, shouldn't be diffraction or softness in the lens too, in any case, diffraction doesn't looks like this kind of soft.

    1) Do you have any filter in front of your lens ?
    2) Did you used any software creative filter used in your camera during the shot ?

    Curious, do external strobe have slow sync mode, or also known as rear curtain and it's activated ?

    I saw in your EXIF that under the Flash parameter, it indicated "Flash did not fire". Are you using continuous light source ? The symptoms of the soft effect looks like movement during flash.
    Last edited by David Kwok; 9th October 2011 at 12:58 AM.
    D3S|N70-200|N24-70|N24-85|N50f1.4|N35f2|SB800|SB900|Yashica GS|S95
    www.flickr.com/photos/davidktw

  8. #8

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kwok View Post
    The pic indeed looks soft at 1/125, it shouldn't be due to movement since even the shoes look soft. Only f/8, shouldn't be diffraction or softness in the lens too, in any case, diffraction doesn't looks like this kind of soft.

    1) Do you have any filter in front of your lens ?
    2) Did you used any software creative filter used in your camera during the shot ?

    Curious, do external strobe have slow sync mode, or also known as rear curtain and it's activated ?

    I saw in your EXIF that under the Flash parameter, it indicated "Flash did not fire". Are you using continuous light source ? The symptoms of the soft effect looks like movement during flash.
    1) nope, no filter
    2) no software creative filter also

    i dont believe my external strobe has this function. i bought it used from another cser. a simple strobe with only on/off switch and test button

    i was using manual mode for my d5100 and adjusted the flash setting to no flash. no continous light. there was slight movement from the model only. almost 70% of my photos came out to be soft and im mostly using a tripod throughout the shoot

  9. #9

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Were you using VR on tripod?

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aphro6677
    ya. vr was on
    Dang, that's is a problem. Off VR and try again. On tripod, most of the time VR cause more problem than aid.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  12. #12
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by aphro6677 View Post
    ya. vr was on
    When on tripod, VR needs to be off.

  13. #13

    Default

    wow thanks! will try offing it fo my nxt shoot ^_^

  14. #14
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by aphro6677 View Post
    wow thanks! will try offing it fo my nxt shoot ^_^
    Also... if you are in a studio environment, you control all the lights. you also control all the settings...

    Even if you are shooting without a tripod, why do you even need VR?

  15. #15
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    I really don't know if VR can have such a pronounced negative impact on a photo.

    Have even shot long exposure with VR mistakenly left on, and no huge adverse effect observed. So to get this kind of blur at 1/125s? Hmmmmm... I don't know...
    Exploring! :)

  16. #16
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    I really don't know if VR can have such a pronounced negative impact on a photo.

    Have even shot long exposure with VR mistakenly left on, and no huge adverse effect observed. So to get this kind of blur at 1/125s? Hmmmmm... I don't know...
    Depends on the version of the VR la bro... yours is VR2 leh, it will sense if it is on a tripod.

  17. #17
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Depends on the version of the VR la bro... yours is VR2 leh, it will sense if it is on a tripod.
    ok point taken...
    but 1/125s and that kind of blurring....

    Is it possible that it is a problem of mis-focus instead?
    Exploring! :)

  18. #18

    Default

    I've tried it with vr off now. helps alot. but still not the sharpness I want. especially on the eyes. I used af-s. should I use manual focus instead? 18-55 kit lens can provide very sharp photos? or do u need to change other lens?

  19. #19

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    Quote Originally Posted by aphro6677 View Post
    I've tried it with vr off now. helps alot. but still not the sharpness I want. especially on the eyes. I used af-s. should I use manual focus instead? 18-55 kit lens can provide very sharp photos? or do u need to change other lens?
    You should not need any other lens - The kit lens it actually good enough. What if you shoot outdoors, etc? Still have soft pics?
    Alpha

  20. #20

    Default Re: noob question on studio

    If you take RAW then the pics need sharpening in post-pocessing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •