Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 79

Thread: Square filters

  1. #41
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    1600....you could really can have a good nap...a 300+ already got on my nerves (aprox 20+ mins on my computer, RAW->JPEG)

    I still prefer the dummy proof method of copy & paste develop settings
    Comes with the territory.

    And I remember it to be a lot less than 30 mins. Maybe having a fast machine with lots of ram helps.

  2. #42
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allenleonhart
    i'm trying to source for china brand 100mm filters. so far very little luck.

    no official websites for tianya, hercules etc. isnt making my life easy
    Holders only. Filters that size your best bet is still lee or hitech.

  3. #43
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Comes with the territory.

    And I remember it to be a lot less than 30 mins. Maybe having a fast machine with lots of ram helps.
    Well, I can afford to wait alittle

    Hardly find enough reasons to upgrade computer specs. Core 2 duo with 4gb ram, 32bit XP..
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  4. #44
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    Well, I can afford to wait alittle

    Hardly find enough reasons to upgrade computer specs. Core 2 duo with 4gb ram, 32bit XP..
    When you go to 64 bit and 8GB ram you can totally see the diff.

  5. #45
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    When you go to 64 bit and 8GB ram you can totally see the diff.
    I'll just wait for my comp to retire itself..instead of forcing it to (my CPU can't support 64bit)
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    RAM seems so cheap these days.. Really feel like pumping mine to 12GB (or 18GB) with a mere $200+
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    I'll just wait for my comp to retire itself..instead of forcing it to (my CPU can't support 64bit)
    Are u sure ur CPU cannot support 64bit? I think all core 2 series can support 64 bit liao.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  8. #48

    Default

    I'm running on i5 4gb ram and 64 bit windows 7. I have problem reading raw files. It's really slow!

  9. #49
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    Are u sure ur CPU cannot support 64bit? I think all core 2 series can support 64 bit liao.
    Correction on my part, yes it does support 64 bit, but not the 64bit virtualization (I think that's the term, can't be sure now, too long ago). I've tried installing Win 7 64bit before, but it runs real slowly, and I found that this virtualization thingy was the main cause.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  10. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    Correction on my part, yes it does support 64 bit, but not the 64bit virtualization (I think that's the term, can't be sure now, too long ago). I've tried installing Win 7 64bit before, but it runs real slowly, and I found that this virtualization thingy was the main cause.
    U can turn it off in your CMOS I think.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  11. #51
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    U can turn it off in your CMOS I think.
    er, the problem with mine is, it does not support it which windows 7 apparently needs...I would be happy to do the cmos tweak if it's a disable/enable stuff
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  12. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    er, the problem with mine is, it does not support it which windows 7 apparently needs...I would be happy to do the cmos tweak if it's a disable/enable stuff
    Hmmm.... I dunno. My core 2 quad happily take my 64bit win 7. Though it's only my htpc.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  13. #53
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    Hmmm.... I dunno. My core 2 quad happily take my 64bit win 7. Though it's only my htpc.
    Core 2 duo (c2d) and Core 2 quad (c2q) very different....2 core vs 4 core..mine is c2d
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  14. #54
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    Core 2 duo (c2d) and Core 2 quad (c2q) very different....2 core vs 4 core..mine is c2d
    If you buy now make sure you get the second generation Core 2. I would suggest an i7 and lots of RAM for heavy duty PP work.

  15. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike View Post
    Core 2 duo (c2d) and Core 2 quad (c2q) very different....2 core vs 4 core..mine is c2d
    It's only lots of diff if u do very heavy duty video encoding job. OS wise I dun think it's that bad. Imagine ur Core 2 compare to a netbook processor. If a netbook processor can take windows 7, there's no reason it can't. Must be caused by something else.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  16. #56
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleFai View Post
    If you buy now make sure you get the second generation Core 2. I would suggest an i7 and lots of RAM for heavy duty PP work.
    I'll see what's the mid range core when mine passes away...

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    It's only lots of diff if u do very heavy duty video encoding job. OS wise I dun think it's that bad. Imagine ur Core 2 compare to a netbook processor. If a netbook processor can take windows 7, there's no reason it can't. Must be caused by something else.
    I already resigned to fate (认命) liao...
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  17. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by allenleonhart View Post
    i'm trying to source for china brand 100mm filters. so far very little luck.

    no official websites for tianya, hercules etc. isnt making my life easy
    You can try SLR accesory 91 bencoolen street #01-34 sunshine plaza
    Just bought the package promotion less then $60, 3 color filter , holder and adaptor

  18. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tausagi

    You can try SLR accesory 91 bencoolen street #01-34 sunshine plaza
    Just bought the package promotion less then $60, 3 color filter , holder and adaptor
    100mm filters?
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  19. #59

    Default Re: Square filters

    Quote Originally Posted by Tausagi View Post
    You can try SLR accesory 91 bencoolen street #01-34 sunshine plaza
    Just bought the package promotion less then $60, 3 color filter , holder and adaptor
    Hi a . Set of 5 colors filters , 1 adapter and 1 ring at $65 only at SGCAMERASTORE also a free gaffa tape - u can check their thread

  20. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dis28

    Hi a . Set of 5 colors filters , 1 adapter and 1 ring at $65 only at SGCAMERASTORE also a free gaffa tape - u can check their thread
    Unless what he got is 100mm filters...
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •