Thread: Zoom Lens

Default Zoom Lens

Hi, I am a total newbie towards photography. Just got my Canon 550D with EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens a year back.

I'm considering on getting a zoom lens but have no idea which one would be idealistic. The lens got to be user friendly and not too heavy. However my budget is rather low, perhaps below SGD$1000.

Any suggestion? Thanks!

Default Re: Zoom Lens

Your 18-135mm is already good enough...

Quote Originally Posted by Shannonang View Post
    Hi, I am a total newbie towards photography. Just got my Canon 550D with EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens a year back.

I'm considering on getting a zoom lens but have no idea which one would be idealistic. The lens got to be user friendly and not too heavy. However my budget is rather low, perhaps below SGD$1000.

Any suggestion? Thanks!
    You already have a "zoom" lens. The 18-135 is a 7.5x "zoom", calculated as 135/18.

All lenses are "user friendly", they won't bite, don't worry.

We do not call it "zoom" as that's a totally arbitrary thing, we refer to the focal length.

Look at the priceguide, see what matches your budget and provides the telefocal length you need. Then, after you have shortlisted the lenses, you would go online and read the reviews and then either try the lens in the shops or rent the lens.
    Last edited by Rashkae; 5th October 2011 at 05:45 PM.
    Alpha

I personally think 135mm is already quite a good range.. if really not good enough for you.. maybe you can consider the 70-300mm..

If you really not sure whether you really need another lens.. or which one to get, it will be better you rent one out and try first..

http://sg.camerarental.biz/PriceList/PriceList.aspx
    Nikon D5000 - 18-55mm l 55-200mm l 35mm f1.8g l Grip
    My FlickR l Google+

Any suggestion? Thanks!
    $1000 is not too shabby a budget.
    Perhaps you would like to share the reasons why you feel dissatisfied with your current lens 18-135.
    Exploring! :)

Any suggestion? Thanks!