Page 1 of 9 1236 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 161

Thread: D800

  1. #1

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    why should I tell you?
    Posts
    914

    Default Re: D800

    36MP???!!!
    those who want this camera should get better computer and larger harddisk first...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    524

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by dc01572 View Post
    36MP???!!!
    those who want this camera should get better computer and larger harddisk first...
    Anything wrong? Don't you want it? Or you keep your old computer and dun even think of it?

  4. #4

    Default Re: D800

    "4 frames per second continuous shooting in body only, about 6 frames per second will be used to DX mode with the optional battery pack."

    nooooo! this would probably turn me away from upgrading from D700


  5. #5

    Default Re: D800

    was hoping for a d3s sensor.

  6. #6

    Default Re: D800

    what i want for the D700 replacement

    1) dual card slot, CF & SD
    2) able to shoot video
    3) 16/18 megapixels worst 24 (seriously best to remain at 12)
    4) use the same battery grip and battery, but i highly doubt so
    5) articulated screen
    6) better ISO


  7. #7

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by rotisiao View Post
    was hoping for a d3s sensor.
    This comforts me that I am having a D3S

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: D800

    i think 36 is a little over the top =X but, if it has good DR i ll compromise. i'd love about 20-25mp, iso 100, and a 100% vf(most imp). dual card slots would be fun too.

    alternately, squeeze everything the D700 is now into an F3 body =D
    Last edited by Ben Ang; 4th October 2011 at 08:00 AM.
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  9. #9

    Default Re: D800

    Aiyah.. 4 fps?? I was thinking of getting the D700 + grip and can have 8fps. hmz.

  10. #10

    Default Re: D800

    nice upgrade....

    D700 similar to D3

    D800 similar to D3s (I believe the video features should improve for auto AF)

  11. #11
    Senior Member blueskye168's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    AVPS
    Posts
    2,874

    Default Re: D800

    Well, will only consider if, based on the given at 36-Mpxl, at any SAME ISO used to compared to D700, the Noise must definitely be of an 'Improvement' if not, for my case, nopoint to upgrade liao...!!

    As for the 4Fps it's alright for me, since I'm not doing Sports/any-fast-Action thingsss...hmmm.....!!.....
    Anything that can take pictures...happy already lor...(..but...Hasselblad_H5D-50 as my Workhorse)

  12. #12

    Default Re: D800

    This could be true... my guess is since they are already late to market (due to the tsunami), it makes sense for Nikon to try and increase the pixel count for FX, bearing in mind that: (i) DX is already now at 24MP (Sony's latest NEX7), (ii) the upcoming Canon 5D Mk3 will likely have a lot more than 21MP (almost a doubling in pixel count between Mk 1 and Mk 2).

    Even at 36MP, the pixel size will still be 1.5x larger than the one used in DX 24MP. Do check out the NEX7 sample images -- high ISO not great but usable at 1600. Based on this, I suspect 36MP FX to be OK up to ISO 3200...
    Last edited by bigpond; 4th October 2011 at 02:35 PM.

  13. #13
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by bigpond View Post
    This could be true... my guess is since they are already late to market (due to the tsunami), it makes sense for Nikon to try and increase the pixel count for FX, bearing in mind that: (i) DX is already now at 24MP (Sony's latest NEX7), (ii) the upcoming Canon 5D Mk3 will likely have a lot more than 21MP (almost a doubling in pixel count between Mk 1 and Mk 2).

    Even at 36MP, the pixel size will still be 1.5x larger than the one used in DX 24MP. Do check out the NEX7 sample images -- high ISO not great but usable at 1600. Based on this, I suspect 36MP FX to be OK up to ISO 3200...

    D700-body w dual slots (CF + SD) and D3S sensor would be fabulous!
    Movie mode would be a bonus, though not critical.
    Exploring! :)

  14. #14

    Default Re: D800

    Nikon you better move wisely or else a lot of people will be pissed.
    WTB Manfrotto RC4 L Bracket

  15. #15
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,642

    Default Re: D800

    I would really love to see them utilise the F6 body instead..... or a D3 body minus the vertical grip.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    why should I tell you?
    Posts
    914

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by swhyge View Post
    Anything wrong? Don't you want it? Or you keep your old computer and dun even think of it?
    I don't print large, 12mp is much much sufficient for me.
    and I almost run out of harddisk memory by storing all my photos (12mp),
    thus, higher MP = more waiting time for editing while I am using my old laptop.

  17. #17

    Default

    The men and women of outdoor photography frown while the men and women of indoor photography rejoices.

    But hey, its a new tool.

  18. #18
    Senior Member UncleFai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,424

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by dc01572 View Post
    I don't print large, 12mp is much much sufficient for me.
    and I almost run out of harddisk memory by storing all my photos (12mp),
    thus, higher MP = more waiting time for editing while I am using my old laptop.
    When your camera supports 36MP, you can choose to shoot and store at 2MP, 12MP, 24MP or whatever. But when your camera only do 12MP, you can't do that all important shot using 36MP.

  19. #19
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleFai View Post
    When your camera supports 36MP, you can choose to shoot and store at 2MP, 12MP, 24MP or whatever. But when your camera only do 12MP, you can't do that all important shot using 36MP.
    Hopefully there is a "low-res NEF" option though... With JPG, yes agree that it can be downsized in-camera before storing.
    High-ISO performance will be one of the key benchmarks.
    Exploring! :)

  20. #20

    Default Re: D800

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleFai View Post
    When your camera supports 36MP, you can choose to shoot and store at 2MP, 12MP, 24MP or whatever. But when your camera only do 12MP, you can't do that all important shot using 36MP.
    problem is there is no 2mp, 12mp, 24mp or whatever RAW..

Page 1 of 9 1236 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •