Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Why my canon digicam doesn't have GPS?

  1. #1

    Default Why my canon digicam doesn't have GPS?

    Why my canon digicam doesn't have GPS?

    I'd like the location I took that pic to be in the EXIF also.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    Don't ask me, ask Canon!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    Which cam has this feature?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AReality
    Why my canon digicam doesn't have GPS?

    I'd like the location I took that pic to be in the EXIF also.
    None has it built in as well, but Nikon PRO DSLR has a feature to attached GPS to it, so get that lor if you die die must have...

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi folks, check these out!

    http://www.kodak.com/global/en/servi...34.5.110&lc=en
    http://www.geospatialexperts.com/
    http://www.lupinelogic.com

    Some Kodak cams allows you to connect your GPS to the cam.

    Last edited by Zephirum; 22nd October 2004 at 10:00 AM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    A GPS itself wouldn't be particularly useful in dear old Singapore, you'd probably recognize the place faster than you can dig up some GPS coordinates and look up the location (or plot it to a map overlay).

    Anyhow, a GPS is also of fairly limited use in built-up Singapore, since signals are fairly weak - you do need to get out in the open to get any sort of accuracy, and even in HDB estates, the reception isn't fantastic.

    If you are a frequent globetrekker, and have gone to more places than you care to remember, perhaps you might deem the need for one.

  7. #7

    Default

    pro has spoken... ^^

  8. #8

    Default

    There are many uses of GPS, it is not only use for navigation only as most people perceived. I use GPS to take down and measure my time/distance/speed and log them for my running, hiking and other sports. (sorry for the couched potatoes!) I dun use the navigation feature much in Singapore. Or if you want, you may acquire Geocaching as a hobby (I dun bcos I find it boliao).

    Lastly, people say you'll never get lost with a GPS on hand, but I still prefer my good old Silva compass and map
    Last edited by Zephirum; 22nd October 2004 at 02:50 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Beyond the GPS, can also ask Canon to include these info in future EXIF:
    - subject to camera distance
    - weather report
    - wind velocity


  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Beyond the GPS, can also ask Canon to include these info in future EXIF:
    - subject to camera distance
    - weather report
    - wind velocity

    Astin, that will WLL.

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Beyond the GPS, can also ask Canon to include these info in future EXIF:
    - subject to camera distance
    - weather report
    - wind velocity

    Add barometer, altimeter, thermometer and anemometer in your cam. Using for hiking.

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Beyond the GPS, can also ask Canon to include these info in future EXIF:
    - subject to camera distance
    - weather report
    - wind velocity

    wah. i dun use canon but if i do, i'll want a 'BOHSWEE feature'. so when my cammie knows i am taking a crap shot, it will scream 'oi! siao eh! boh swee lah!!!'

  13. #13

    Default

    Phones now come with cams lor...
    When will cams come with phones...

    How I wish I can detach the lens when I receive an incoming call...

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AReality
    How I wish I can detach the lens when I receive an incoming call...
    Ya good idea, the lens can be the microphone, and the camera body can be the speaker box. Maybe can add a SIM card feature into the CF card in future.

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by renegade
    wah. i dun use canon but if i do, i'll want a 'BOHSWEE feature'. so when my cammie knows i am taking a crap shot, it will scream 'oi! siao eh! boh swee lah!!!'

    even better if the subject is bo swee, then cannot take picture right? Can it be a custom function.

    CFn 33: Take all ugly pictures (0)
    Refuse to take ugly pictures (1)
    Refuse to take ugly subjects (2)
    Refuse to take anything ugly (3)

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Wah then that one will be a super camera liao

  17. #17
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Belle&Sebastain
    even better if the subject is bo swee, then cannot take picture right? Can it be a custom function.

    CFn 33: Take all ugly pictures (0)
    Refuse to take ugly pictures (1)
    Refuse to take ugly subjects (2)
    Refuse to take anything ugly (3)
    aiyoo cannot say this man. later all cam have those features u mentioned, then how am i gonna get my passport photos taken?

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by renegade
    aiyoo cannot say this man. later all cam have those features u mentioned, then how am i gonna get my passport photos taken?
    use custom (0) just joking man,maybe you can adjust the 'ugly' setting 1-5?

    you know i getting crazy editing spots from one of my clients, i should charge more for 'imperfecting perfections'

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Hey, maybe we could add wheels and an engine to a EF 1200mm f5.6L and make it into a car too!
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

  20. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by renegade
    wah. i dun use canon but if i do, i'll want a 'BOHSWEE feature'. so when my cammie knows i am taking a crap shot, it will scream 'oi! siao eh! boh swee lah!!!'
    your cammie will also have one special feature. when taking photos of a pretty model, her phone number, vital stats and address will be recorded in the EXIF data.
    you can buy better gear but you can't buy a better eye

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •