Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Sending digital photos for printing

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default Sending digital photos for printing

    Hello guys,

    Need your advise here.

    Is it necessary to crop all my photos to 3:2 (Fixed Aspect Ratio) in photoshop if I want to get them printed in 4R sizes and a ratio of 5:7 if printing in 5Rs?

    If I merely send in my original photos without doing any cropping or any touch-up in PS, the print of my original picture will be cropped?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

    Default

    Yup, u'll find the top & bottom of ur pic crop'd off in the actual print. Think now there's a new format that allows bigger prints but they can't fit in those std-size 4R photo albums lor...
    ~ 迷失的我仍在努力寻找属于自己的蓝天 ~

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Thanks man.....

    So..say for printing 4R pics, I will need to change the 3:2 ratio accordingly to whether landscape or portrait right? Like 3:2 or 2:3 ya?

    3:2 and 6:4 is the same ya?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Virgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    4,816

    Default

    Yep. Crop it to 4 in by 6 in (portrait) or 6 in by 4 in (landscape).
    Kind Regards
    My Picture Website

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default Siong Man..

    Wah......like that if I need to print a few hundred 4R pics, then I need to crop all my pics one by one until my eyes drop out?

    Siong man.......

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default Re-crop

    Then if I change my mind and decided to print 5R, then I need to re-crop all again?


  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    ClubSNAP community
    Posts
    2,775

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eagles_creek
    Then if I change my mind and decided to print 5R, then I need to re-crop all again?

    Yes.

    Why don't you just print in your 4:3 ratio lah? If printing in 4R, tell the lab that you want in 4RDSC, Fit-In .... it'll come out 6.0" x 4.5".

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azure
    Yes.

    Why don't you just print in your 4:3 ratio lah? If printing in 4R, tell the lab that you want in 4RDSC, Fit-In .... it'll come out 6.0" x 4.5".
    As in the original ratio is 4:3?

    So if I were to do no cropping,and want it in 4RDSC, the photos will come out to be 6.0" x 4.5" ?

    That's 0.5" wider on the width ya?

    By the way, what's 4RDSC ?

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    ClubSNAP community
    Posts
    2,775

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eagles_creek
    As in the original ratio is 4:3?

    So if I were to do no cropping,and want it in 4RDSC, the photos will come out to be 6.0" x 4.5" ?

    That's 0.5" wider on the width ya?

    By the way, what's 4RDSC ?

    Thanks.
    All the above is correct.

    4RDSC is a size available at many digital labs nowadays. It caters to the typical 4:3 size of digicams (eg Canon G2/G3/G5, Nikon 5700, Oly 5050C, etc, etc) like yours, if I remember correctly.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azure
    All the above is correct.

    4RDSC is a size available at many digital labs nowadays. It caters to the typical 4:3 size of digicams (eg Canon G2/G3/G5, Nikon 5700, Oly 5050C, etc, etc) like yours, if I remember correctly.
    Hey Azure,

    thanks.....mine is S30, checked my original photos...they're all in 4:3 ratio.

    Hmm.....so I can print without cropping.

    Is there any 5RDSC that prints 5R sizes without the need to crop also?

    Do you know if Kim Tian prints 4RDSC size? How much do they charge?

    Thanks again!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default Anybody else?

    Or anybody else who know?



    Thanks!

  12. #12
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    ClubSNAP community
    Posts
    2,775

    Default

    Hey, hi,
    I was away for a get-together with the AG goers lah....

    Anyway, if you want 4RDSC, most FDI labs offer it. I recommend Triple-D at Burlington Sq. KT has left a bad impression after some foul-ups and with a recent spat.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azure
    Hey, hi,
    I was away for a get-together with the AG goers lah....

    Anyway, if you want 4RDSC, most FDI labs offer it. I recommend Triple-D at Burlington Sq. KT has left a bad impression after some foul-ups and with a recent spat.
    Hey hey,

    Kum Sia.....Bet you had a great time!

    Maybe I am a bit KPO, but can share what happened with KT?


  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default Printing with borders

    Aiya......me again......

    Any idea how thick is the border if I print with border?

    Any extra charge to print with borders?

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Virgo
    Yep. Crop it to 4 in by 6 in (portrait) or 6 in by 4 in (landscape).
    Can i ask, being a newbie, how do u crop using Adobe Photoshop? izzit under "Image" , --> "Image size" n change it there??

    Thanks

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beyondgal
    Can i ask, being a newbie, how do u crop using Adobe Photoshop? izzit under "Image" , --> "Image size" n change it there??

    Thanks
    Hi Beyondgal,

    there are quite a number of links for using photoshop...

    this is one of them :

    http://www.clubsnap.org/display.php?...eCropGuide.htm

    Can also use the marquee tool and set the ratio before cropping.

    But if you need to print, then need to set the correct ratio to whatever size you need to print before cropping. I also just learnt here......

    Most of my photos are uncropped, but became cropped when printed out.

    Now I know why............either crop them or print in 4RDSC size.

    Need to do more work liao.........

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default dpi ???

    One more question on dpi....

    Is it necessary or better to change the dpi number to 300 if the original number is say 180 ?

    Or say if the lab's printer dpi setting is 300, then we will need to change our photo's dpi to 300 too?

    I read in one of the photoshop articles that dpi setting under the image size menu is an instruction to the printer. So, a higher dpi will give better quality picture. Is this true?

    Sorry....still abit confused abt the effect of changing that dpi number.

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eagles_creek
    Hi Beyondgal,

    there are quite a number of links for using photoshop...

    this is one of them :

    http://www.clubsnap.org/display.php?...eCropGuide.htm

    Can also use the marquee tool and set the ratio before cropping.

    But if you need to print, then need to set the correct ratio to whatever size you need to print before cropping. I also just learnt here......

    Most of my photos are uncropped, but became cropped when printed out.

    Now I know why............either crop them or print in 4RDSC size.

    Need to do more work liao.........
    Thanks a lot for ur infor !!! Really appreciate it !! Guess being newbie, really a lot of techniques to pick up !

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Thumbs up Grace Digital Lab

    You are welcome Beyondgal....I am also newbie,so we all learn from each other and the experts here.

    Just came back from Grace PhotoLab, sent my pics for printing after seeing my friend's nicely printed pics.

    I must say Grace is good !!!

    Very nicely printed,color reproduction is great and Simon of Grace is very helpful and friendly.

    Eh......I don't get commision one......but a good lab deserves to be recommended !

    Simon :

    9872 8095 (HP)
    6774 1846 (Lab)

    Free collection from your place for > 100 pieces.

    Happy Printing !!!

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eagles_creek
    Wah......like that if I need to print a few hundred 4R pics, then I need to crop all my pics one by one until my eyes drop out?

    Siong man.......
    Can do an action on vertical crop and another on horizontal crop in PS if you are only resizing (ie not cropping part of the pic that you unwanted)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •