Thread: Do you enjoy limitations?

Default Do you enjoy limitations?

Hi everyone, Jono here.

New to ClubSNAP, but keen to get to know you guys, so I just want to ask a few fun little questions.

1) What camera setup are you rocking at the moment?
    2) In what ways do you feel limited by it? Have you tried to get around these limitations in some way?
    3) Are those good limitations, and why?
    4) Upgrading? Are you able to?

--

As for me, I'm a poor student, but really wanting to get serious about photography. So I bought a 2nd hand (very 2nd hand, as in not well taken care of, but very cheap) 300D with kit lens to familiarise myself with DSLRs, and a 50mm f1.8 soon after that. This has been my setup for the last couple of years, and although the camera is old and worn and beat up, it has been something I carry around everywhere. Recently, I've been feeling limited in the form of my low light performance - noise is easily visible even at ISO 800, and the max ISO is 1600. Basically, shooting anything in low light with the kit lens yields grainy, noisy photos, which take lots of time in post-processing to achieve semi decent results. With the 50mm it's okay, although I do miss being able to capture everyone in group shots without having to press my back to the wall on the other side of the room.

I've been trying out a few settings to overcome this, like shooting in RAW and exposing one stop lower to increase shutter speed. It's a limitation that has forced me to think outside the box, to work on my posture and steadiness, and to think about where the lighting is in the room.

When I return to Singapore next year, I would like to take advantage of the cheaper price of electronics there and get a 60D maybe - just loving the tilting screen. But till then, I'll be furiously saving my cents.
    Hoping to be a portrait photographer in the future - just you wait and see!

Default Re: Do you enjoy limitations?

good luck in your endeavour !