Thread: Swerve

Default Swerve

Swerve by Plabir, on Flickr

1. Areas for critique
    Composition and overall effect.

2. What I am trying to achieve through the picture
    The photo is slanted as I am trying to achieve the effect on an upward climb. I have always thought that railroads are contrasted to the path of life, so this is what I am trying to contrast it to. That life is an upward struggle, and that you can't see what's after the bend.

3. Under what circumstances was this photo taken?
    Before the KTM railway track was closed. I had to wait for quite a bit to make sure that nobody was walking on the bend or approaching from the bend.

4.what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture
    I like it because I feel the subject and the mood goes well together, but I think that the bokeh at the front is a bit distracting.
    Flickr |Nikon D7000|

Default Re: Swerve

Any comments? ):
    It would be greatly appreciated, I'm still learning and I really wish to know how I can improve.
    Flickr |Nikon D7000|

Railroads have good lead-in line, but unfortunately, slanted photos rarely work well for me.
    I don't see an upward climb, just a curved railroad taken at an awkward angle.

Do keep in mind that the natural reaction of most people to slanted photos will be - turn the photo around, or tilt head.
    Unless you deliberately want people to tilt or rotate to see the photo in different lights, refrain from tilting needlessly...

Overall interesting thought, but it's a fail for me.
    Visit my photo blog : X-Light Photography | FB

Quote Originally Posted by wxzhuo View Post
    Railroads have good lead-in line, but unfortunately, slanted photos rarely work well for me.
    I don't see an upward climb, just a curved railroad taken at an awkward angle.

Do keep in mind that the natural reaction of most people to slanted photos will be - turn the photo around, or tilt head.