Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Just want to greet everyone here + Lens advise.

Default Just want to greet everyone here + Lens advise.

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, but has been reading the postings at the newbies corner for a few days. Very informative. Thanks all.

Picking up this new hobby as I'm no longer young (late 30s) and believe this will be a good activity to pick up.

I'm not contented to buy a DSLR and always set to automatic, hence will open my heart to read your reviews and sharing in this forum.
    Please continue to share.

My equipment:
    Nikon D5000 + 18-55mm kit lens.

Looking to grab a Sigma 18-200mm @ $620 or 18-250mm @ $950(still thinking).

Any advise???

Default Re: Just want to greet everyone here + Lens advise.

both the Sigma 18-200mm & 18-250mm is an overlap of your 18-55mm

if you are buying either, then consider selling your 18-5mm and get a 50mm f1.8 prime

Quote Originally Posted by CubbyT
    Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, but has been reading the postings at the newbies corner for a few days. Very informative. Thanks all.

Picking up this new hobby as I'm no longer young (late 30s) and believe this will be a good activity to pick up.

I'm not contented to buy a DSLR and always set to automatic, hence will open my heart to read your reviews and sharing in this forum.
    Please continue to share.

My equipment:
    Nikon D5000 + 18-55mm kit lens.

Looking to grab a Sigma 18-200mm @ $620 or 18-250mm @ $950(still thinking).

Any advise???
    Hello What is your shooting preference? Is there something with the kit lens that is limiting you? Is it zoom range?
    Canon EOS 600D | BBB virus carrier

Hi,

Yes, the zoom range. I believe at my level, I can only know this(zooming). My shooting ranges from landscape to ball games, and also pets. So getting 18-200 or 18-250 as an "All-in-One" walkabout lens.

don't forget still got Tamron 18-270 (more choices )