Thread: Diamond earrings shots - pls advise

Default Diamond earrings shots - pls advise

>>> Earring1

>>> Earring2

>>> Earring3

>>> Earring4

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie at jewellery photography and this is the first 'decent' shots I took of some diamond earrings after lots of experimentation, reading up. I'm using Canon 550D with 60mm macro with F22 and ISO 100.
    Images on the left are unprocessed (only reduce saturation in PS) and finished images on the right.
    Studio lights-wise I'm using 2 large softboxes which I bought for larger product photog practice (I know i should be using strobes but no $$ to invest yet...)

My questions to those experienced:
    1. Can i also achieve good lighting shots by using those cheaper light tents? (I feel my using of softbox a bit exaggerated
    2. Or must I really invest in strobes?
    3. How to capture those smaller diamond cuts sharply like the bigger diamond 4? (tried my best but still a bit blurry)
    4. Any other comments are welcomed. Thanks very much!

Default Re: Diamond earrings shots - pls advise

At f/22, you are suffering from diffraction. This softens your images. Try f/11 instead.

Yes, you can achieve good shots using cheaper light tents, but your processed shots look way over-processed.

There are many guides online on how to shoot jewelry. Have you read them?

FYI, a simple white backdrop, and a tiny speck of blu-tack behind the jewelry to hold the jewelry in place will mean you don't need the strings and can post-process less.
    Alpha

Diamonds also need hard light to sparkle.
    You say you are using softboxes but don't have strobes... What is in the softboxes?
    Tyrov
    Flickr

you probably need a macro lens for such close up shots.
    Coolthought - 冷静思考 - クールだ http://xaa.xanga.com/0aba0666d143253.../t35917343.gif

i use light tent, when at home i use 2 table lamps to shine on it. play with the angle of the 2 table lamps to minimise shadow of the product in the light tent.