Thread: Tips for photoshoot with cartoon characters like Disney?

Default Tips for photoshoot with cartoon characters like Disney?

I queued for 4 hours for this one photoshoot today with mickey for my son. Everything happened so fast. We were ushered up the stage, my wife and child standing side by side with Mickey, one shot and off you go. Just wondering is there any technique for these kinds of photoshoot? Should I use prime lens like 50mm f1.4/f1.8 to get better picture (Actually I am a newbie to DSLR. I was wondering 50mm f1.8 produces a bokeh at f1.8. If I use it in photoshoot and aim the focus point at my son, will my wife and Mickey faces be blurred due to the DOF?)

Anyway, here is the blur picture which I sort of disappointed.

Default Re: Tips for photoshoot with cartoon characters like Disney?

Quote Originally Posted by maisatomai View Post
    I queued for 4 hours for this one photoshoot today with mickey for my son. Everything happened so fast. We were ushered up the stage, my wife and child standing side by side with Mickey, one shot and off you go. Just wondering is there any technique for these kinds of photoshoot? Should I use prime lens like 50mm f1.4/f1.8 to get better picture (Actually I am a newbie to DSLR. I was wondering 50mm f1.8 produces a bokeh at f1.8. If I use it in photoshoot and aim the focus point at my son, will my wife and Mickey faces be blurred due to the DOF?)

Anyway, here is the blur picture which I sort of disappointed.
    i think you have a hot spot there.

First of all, I applauded your patience to earn your son some precious childhood memories.

To answer you qn, yes you are right. You will risk blurring out mickey if you use f1.8 for the shot, because the dof is thin and the slightest shift from the focal plane will render the subject as oof.