Thread: 20D users feedback

Talking 20D users feedback

Im sure some fellas here must have gotten the 20D by now.
    So those who have pls do share with us your feedback on this camera.
    Partly also cos Im thinking of purchasing a DSLR, but still not sure if i should wait for D200 or buy the 20D.

There are some feedback regarding loose vertical grip and some lockup issues reported at Check there as there are more users willing to share info.

Default just got a 20D

I have had mine for about a week now and am learning. So far I am well pleased with it, almost instantaneous "on" from a cold start or after being asleep. There is no discernible lag time starting up. Darn near instant focusing, if you need the five frames per second its there. I have a good bit of learning yet but am progressing. I havent experienced the loose vertical grip or any lock up issues as yet. I would be glad to try and answer any questions you may have. Keep in mind that I am not a professional photographer. I upgraded from an Olympus E10 which was/is a fine camera.

Default hows the focusing screen

it was mentioned that it is improved, do you see much improvement when using manual focus ??

does it interfer with regular use ??

You seem to be deciding between Nikon or Canon. It might be useful for you to look at the systems in general as well - layout/interface, lens options/costs, DX format (Nikon), trends etc. You will find a lot of comparisons across systems here, sometimes in the form of heated debates Ultimately, both systems are good but still some of us choose to jump from one to another as seen in the launching of the Olympus E1, Nikon D70 etc.

Cameras keep improving while the rest of your system would last you for the long-haul with some of your lenses possibly costing close to or more than your camera (not to mention your flash and other accessories). Might be worth your while to try out a D70/D100 and a 10D/20D to feel which system you are more comfortable with.