Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Focusing problem?

  1. #1

    Default Focusing problem?

    I am trying to shoot this figure, but seems the right hand is blurred.

    I am shooting the figure with D3100 with 50mm 1.4, photo parameters is 1.4fp, 1/50. Shot with 2 soft boxes on each side.

    Appreciate some help. thank you.

    Last edited by torque6; 4th August 2011 at 10:08 PM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    You shot it at f1.4? There's your problem, try shooting at higher f-number for more DOF

  3. #3
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    wah 50mm 1.4 ^^ nice haha. ya thats the problem you shot it at 1.4 try f8? or f5.6 haha or u can slowly increase the F-no. to see the different ^^ eg 2.8 5.6 8 11 ~~~
    Lousy de My Flickr

  4. #4
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    You mean '1.4fp' is the aperture setting? Then the problem is behind the viewfinder, your camera is fine.
    http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tut...h-of-field.htm
    EOS

  5. #5

    Default

    Thats e effects of 1.4. If u focus on e hand and e body is sharp then e lens got problem.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    Sorry, I didn't explain clearly. Increasing F stop will result in my background becoming visible and thus will also cause the right hand to show. However, I would like to shoot with bokeh back ground while isolating the figure but with the figure hands becoming visible as well. The lens can only focus on body or hand but not both. Is ther a way to AE lock or select focus point in manual mode?

    So far i am taking 2 shots, 1 at 1.4fp and another at 5.6fp with tripod and replacing the arm with the 5.6fp layer using quick selection tool in CS5.

    I am inquiring if there is any way to do this other than the above method, distance from subject etc?

    Thank you
    Last edited by torque6; 5th August 2011 at 09:03 AM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by torque6 View Post
    Sorry, I didn't explain clearly. Increasing F stop will result in my background becoming visible and thus will also cause the right hand to show. However, I would like to shoot with bokeh back ground while isolating the figure but with the figure hands becoming visible as well. The lens can only focus on body or hand but not both. Is ther a way to AE lock or select focus point in manual mode?

    So far i am taking 2 shots, 1 at 1.4fp and another at 5.6fp with tripod and replacing the arm with the 5.6fp layer using quick selection tool in CS5.

    I am inquiring if there is any way to do this other than the above method, distance from subject etc?

    Thank you
    Yes play with the distance. Place the figurine nearer to you and keep the background far away, this will make the arm visible and have a reasonably blur background at f5.6

  8. #8

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by torque6 View Post
    Sorry, I didn't explain clearly. Increasing F stop will result in my background becoming visible and thus will also cause the right hand to show. However, I would like to shoot with bokeh back ground while isolating the figure but with the figure hands becoming visible as well. The lens can only focus on body or hand but not both. Is ther a way to AE lock or select focus point in manual mode?

    So far i am taking 2 shots, 1 at 1.4fp and another at 5.6fp with tripod and replacing the arm with the 5.6fp layer using quick selection tool in CS5.

    I am inquiring if there is any way to do this other than the above method, distance from subject etc?

    Thank you
    Psst.... There is no "bokeh back ground". I think you mean "blurred background". Bokeh is not blur.

    You need to increase the distance to the background then.
    Alpha

  9. #9
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by torque6 View Post
    Sorry, I didn't explain clearly. Increasing F stop will result in my background becoming visible and thus will also cause the right hand to show. However, I would like to shoot with bokeh back ground while isolating the figure but with the figure hands becoming visible as well. The lens can only focus on body or hand but not both. Is ther a way to AE lock or select focus point in manual mode?

    So far i am taking 2 shots, 1 at 1.4fp and another at 5.6fp with tripod and replacing the arm with the 5.6fp layer using quick selection tool in CS5.

    I am inquiring if there is any way to do this other than the above method, distance from subject etc?

    Thank you
    using a smaller the lens aperture, make a larger background to replace the current one, so you can triple the distance between your figurine and the background will to make it out of focus.
    if your background is far enough, using f22 will still be out of focus since you are shooting a small figurine.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  10. #10
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    Your manual knows how to select a certain focus point, in manual focusing mode you still get the focus confirmation. Point to the right elbow, should be the middle distance between face and hand. Use one of the many DOF calculators online to check the resulting DOF for your aperture. You will see how far the sharp area goes and where it becomes blur.
    Btw: aperture is stated as 'f/x' or just the number .. where do you get this 'fp' from?
    EOS

  11. #11
    Moderator rhino123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    5,247

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    1) Stand further back.

    2) Increase your aperture value.
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

  12. #12

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    If you don't mind doing a little PP work, how about focus stacking?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Focus_stacking

  13. #13

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    thanks guys for the suggestions.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    should it be worrying there is no visible indication of light from the 2 softboxes?

  15. #15
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Focusing problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by foxtwo View Post
    should it be worrying there is no visible indication of light from the 2 softboxes?
    True hor? Lighting looks flat.

    TS,
    How big is the softbox?
    Background looks like a PC monitor, thus I assume it's quite close to the subject. It's also not very large. If indeed you have used a couple of softboxes, should see some light on the monitor as well.
    Exploring! :)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •