Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 28th September 2004   #1
zorro18

Default My long,long,long-term plans ....Lenses for my D70

ok, after in-depth soul searching (remember, I have 4 mouths to feed... ),
I came to the harsh reality that AF-S & VR lenses are out of my reach & as I'm still new, I should be more prudent in my photography investments.
If not, my whole family & parents & grandparents will eat porridge & tau-yu 3 meals daily!!!

Under such constraints, these are my longx10 term purchases.
I have the listed prices; any knows the 'real' price out there?

1) Macro : AF Micro 60mm f2.8
2) Tele-zoom: AF 80-200mm f2.8D ED or
AF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6G IF ED
3) WA: AF 18-35mm f3.5-4.5D IF-ED
4) Prime: AF 50mm f1.4

Of cos, if there are 3rd party lens (Sigma or Tamron), I will still consider....

I like to hear fr fellow Nikonians what they think of the above.....ya, ya, some of u got 'hi-end' taste but I'm just a newbie and hv no plans for immediate purchases.
I hv to get used to the D70 and the 18-70mm lens 1st b4 I start to splurge....

Last edited by zorro18; 28th September 2004 at 11:29 AM.
Old 28th September 2004   #2
Astin

Nah, u dont need 2) & 3) above, those are for the specialist......
Just get the 1) & 4) and maybe add a 85mm f1.8 for those head shots will do, or a 20mm for those super wide angle shots, or a 300mm if u like birds, or a fish eye to compliment your once-in-a-while needs, or the 35mm for the ease of travelling, or the 105mm DC or the 135mm DC......
Old 28th September 2004   #3
espn

Go for the Nikkor 105 f/2.8 ~$1K new

At least the AF 80-200 two touch f/2.8 - $1100 2nd hand

Seriously consider a 17-35, but I used to own the 18-35 before, managable lah, new at $950

Forget the 50 f/1.4 ~$650 go for the 50 f/1.8 ~$170 is good enough, if you want 1.4, go for the 85 f/1.4 ~$1600 instead.

Of cos, if there are 3rd party lens (Sigma or Tamron), I will still consider....

Never consider 3rd party, stick with Nikkors all the way...
Sponsored Link
Old 28th September 2004   #4
KNIGHT ONG

I am selling 2 lens

Tokina AT-X 24-200mm f/3.5-5.6
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=93939
Tokina AT-X Pro 20-35mm f/2.8
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=93935
Old 28th September 2004   #5
zorro18

Originally Posted by KNIGHT ONG
I am selling 2 lens

Tokina AT-X 24-200mm f/3.5-5.6
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=93939
Tokina AT-X Pro 20-35mm f/2.8
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=93935

Knight Ong, wah, you so fast........no lar, not now. Thanks for the heads up..
Old 28th September 2004   #6
KNIGHT ONG

Originally Posted by zorro18
Knight Ong, wah, you so fast........no lar, not now. Thanks for the heads up..
Claering stock ... so can re-invest
Old 28th September 2004   #7
Dennis

Agree and disagree, Micro 60mm is OK with 1.5x crop, the only problem being you have to get closer, both optics are as good but price difference is pretty wide between 60 and 105. You don't need 28-200 but the 80-200 2 touch is a must if you are not considering the 70-200 VR. 18-35 f3.5/4.5 can skip but do consider the 17-35 f2.8 or the 17-55 f2.8 if you don't mind DX lens and also the very good value for money kit lens 18-70. Prime yes can go for the cheaper 50mm f1.8 instead of the f1.4 but do consider the 85mm 1.4. and next get a really wide angle 12-24mm or a 14mm f2.8. Long term consideration buy all the lens you can afford

Originally Posted by espn

Go for the Nikkor 105 f/2.8 ~$1K new

At least the AF 80-200 two touch f/2.8 - $1100 2nd hand

Seriously consider a 17-35, but I used to own the 18-35 before, managable lah, new at $950

Forget the 50 f/1.4 ~$650 go for the 50 f/1.8 ~$170 is good enough, if you want 1.4, go for the 85 f/1.4 ~$1600 instead.

Never consider 3rd party, stick with Nikkors all the way...
Old 28th September 2004   #8
binbeto

From your list, I see that you wanted to have focal length from 18 to 200.

Well, you dun need them all..

Try using your kit lens at the moment. Explore what type of photography you wanted then decide.

On the side note, have your got a bag, dry cabinet, tripod and spare battery? These are more important. Maybe read some books at the library to improve.
Old 28th September 2004   #9
melnjes

I came to the harsh reality that AF-S & VR lenses are out of my reach & as I'm still new, I should be more prudent in my photography investments.
If not, my whole family & parents & grandparents will eat porridge & tau-yu 3 meals daily!!!

I like to hear fr fellow Nikonians what they think of the above.....ya, ya, some of u got 'hi-end' taste but I'm just a newbie and hv no plans for immediate purchases.
For (3) at wide, your kit lens is 18mm f3.5 as well. Any reason why you need (3) then? Better lens quality?
Old 28th September 2004   #10
zorro18

Originally Posted by binbeto
On the side note, have your got a bag, dry cabinet, tripod and spare battery? These are more important. Maybe read some books at the library to improve.
agree...the lenses are my long-term plans. hv to get use to the d70 & the kit lens 1st...
yep, I hv a dry cabinet, U6600 tripod (for my A80), spare battery ..er, i dun think i need one yet..., bag..m using an Lowepro Orion Royal Blue but dun like it...
Old 28th September 2004   #11
jamestan

If you intend to get the D70 with the kit lens, then go for:

1. AF Macro: 60mm or the 105mm? Frankly, I prefer the 105, but it comes with a hefty price tag as well. But, as with my other prime lenses, it is now a "display" lens. Hardly used it nowadays. (Sorry, not selling !!)

2. You should at least get the 80-200/2.8 two touch, if you want to consider going into a little spors photography. Selling in the BS forum at about 1000 to 1300. This lens is a good portraiture lens as well as good for some sports photography.

3. Scrap that. If you have cash, get the 12-24 DXG lens. Its good, considering the coverage (with the 1.5 crop, it becomes a 18-36mm lens). The Nikon one costs SGD 1500 while the Sigma one costs SGD 950! I went for the Sigma one, as it has the added advantage on being able to be used on a FILM camera !! Haha...

4. I would forget the 50/1.4. I used to have that lens. When the zoom came along, this lens got regulated to "display" status. Not to belittle the lens, but to me, the coverage and ange just wasn't enough to justify another lens in my bag. Sold it within 3 months of getting it.

5. Consider a flash to go with your D70 (the SB 800 would be good), AND a spare flash (maybe look in the forum for 2nd SB28/80?? Cheap and good for back-up.

6. Consider some extra menory cards as well. Split your memory cards. For example, if you only have money for a 1GB card, don't but a 1GB card. Split it into 2 x 512MB. Why? In case one card fails you still have another one. 1 am carrying 4 x 1GB and NOT 2 x 2GB. Reason is obvious. Of course, I would love to have 4 x 2GB !!!

3rd party lenses ARE an option. I have the Tokina 28-70/2.6-2.8 (9 years old) and the 20-35/2.8 (5 years old). They are cheap and good. Have been using them for a long time with no side effects. Of course there will ALWAYS be some who say that Nikkor will be better. I acknowledge that, but at times our pockets don't acknowledge. Like you, I have 5 mouths to feed. I am still waiting for the day when I can reply to espn and say :"I'll take your AFS VR 200-400 at SGD 9100 !!!"
Old 28th September 2004   #12
nikonsiao

Same Same...i thought it was prata...
Old 28th September 2004   #13
pipefish

The kit lens is already pretty good and covers the main focal lengths. (27-105mm). Do you find yourself needing a different focal length? Are you gravitating towards macro/sports/night photography?

Otherwise for normal photography, a combination of the kit lens and the wide ISO range of your camera should suit most situations.

I'm not saying that you shouldn't buy, but perhaps you can evaluate what you should buy when you are more sure of the direction of your photography.

Cheers,

Alan
Old 28th September 2004   #14
quekky

for macro, if u have no $ u can consider the tamron 90mm, if u have slightly more $ can consider tamron 180mm. if u have loads of $ can consider nikkor 200mm
Old 28th September 2004   #15

Tamron has a 11-18/4.5-5.6 if you are wide angle fetish. This translates to 16.5mm to 27mm effectively. 77mm diameter only. Else get the sigma 12-24. You can choose 2nd hand if you want to save.
Old 28th September 2004   #16
Kho King

when I first start out photography (4 years ago), I only have RM2000 budget. So I got my first F60D + 28-80 + 75-240mm.

You are consider as very rich and fortunate and rich liao...start with a D70 set.

I am not rich too...and there are a few lenses in Nikon and third party that I would say a good buy, no need to go the best...just what you can afford, and alway...yes, I mean ALWAYS buy 2nd hand, browse Clubsnap Buy/sell often.
Old 28th September 2004   #17
satan_18349

I will definately go for 2) 28-200 G lens...(cos im holding one ) No sft issue ive encounter so far...light too..$500++ brand new..
Also the 80-200 is a $3k++ lens!!!! OMG....
Old 28th September 2004   #18
zorro18

Originally Posted by pipefish

The kit lens is already pretty good and covers the main focal lengths. (27-105mm). Do you find yourself needing a different focal length? Are you gravitating towards macro/sports/night photography?

Otherwise for normal photography, a combination of the kit lens and the wide ISO range of your camera should suit most situations.

Alan
actually, u make sense.....since the kit lens is already 18-70mm; i can exclude the WA & Prime lens for the time being.
I believe the 80-200mm 2-touch lens is the AF-S range. If that's true then it's out of my budget....I hv to be realistic.

Like Kho King, I hv to do more lurking in the B&S forum....
So now, my wish-list (no hurry):
1. Macro: Tamron 90mm f2.8 DI S$500
2. AF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6G IF-ED S$500
3. Super WA ...on hold. Awaiting the Tamron 11-18/4.5-5.6
If more than S$1K then no point....
Old 28th September 2004   #19
TMC

actually, u make sense.....since the kit lens is already 18-70mm; i can exclude the WA & Prime lens for the time being.
I believe the 80-200mm 2-touch lens is the AF-S range. If that's true then it's out of my budget....I hv to be realistic.

Like Kho King, I hv to do more lurking in the B&S forum....
So now, my wish-list (no hurry):
1. Macro: Tamron 90mm f2.8 DI S$500
2. AF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6G IF-ED S$500
3. Super WA ...on hold. Awaiting the Tamron 11-18/4.5-5.6
If more than S$1K then no point....
I would prefer the 80-200 better than the 28-200, 2nd hand is less than 1k. Worth going for.

Using the 28-75 f2.8 as my only lens and I'm loving it.
Old 28th September 2004   #20
quekky

there are several versions of 80-200/2.8

1. 80-200 AFD one touch, 2nd hand below 1k, no tripod collar
2. 80-200 AFD two touch, 2nd hand 1-1.2k, got tripod collar
3. 80-200 AFS (2 touch), new >2k, i rather get the 70-200VR at that kind of price. AF is much faster then the AFD version

all 3 optics are supposely equally good. if i would to choose, i'll get the AFD two touch version, at least can put on tripod w/o straining my camera mount, and price is ok too
Closed Thread