Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Why are CMOS sensors used in DSLR? I thought CCD's better than CMOS?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    JE, Singapore
    Posts
    350

    Default Why are CMOS sensors used in DSLR? I thought CCD's better than CMOS?

    I'd wanted to ask this question a long time ago...when I read the specifications of a few high-end DSLRs, I notice their sensors're CMOS instead of CCD, & my impression was that CMOS sensors're only used in low, real low-end cameras like those integrated into mobile phones, or cheap digicams, but why are they found in DSLRs?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralliart12
    I'd wanted to ask this question a long time ago...when I read the specifications of a few high-end DSLRs, I notice their sensors're CMOS instead of CCD, & my impression was that CMOS sensors're only used in low, real low-end cameras like those integrated into mobile phones, or cheap digicams, but why are they found in DSLRs?
    The Nikon D2H and D1X are using CMOS? Nah... They use CCD... I read that CMOS sensors are better at capturing detail in low light...
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nickmak
    The Nikon D2H and D1X are using CMOS? Nah... They use CCD...
    D2H doesn't use CCD as the sensor, it uses LBCAST, a variant of CMOS.

    However, D1X, D100 and D70 do.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AJ23
    D2H doesn't use CCD as the sensor, it uses LBCAST, a variant of CMOS.

    However, D1X, D100 and D70 do.
    Ooopppsss... my bad... but still close enough!
    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong/Singapore/Brisbane
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralliart12
    I'd wanted to ask this question a long time ago...when I read the specifications of a few high-end DSLRs, I notice their sensors're CMOS instead of CCD, & my impression was that CMOS sensors're only used in low, real low-end cameras like those integrated into mobile phones, or cheap digicams, but why are they found in DSLRs?
    DSLR sensor is very big and it is cheapper to made CMOS than CCD for such big size and CMOS use less battery then CCD
    of cos these CMOS are much much much .... much better build then those found in phone or web cam ....
    thats what i know but may not be exactly right

  6. #6

    Default

    http://www.canon.com/technology/detail/device/cmos/

    Maybe this well help. Technological improvement in CMOS chip technology has improved tremendously to a stage where it is on par with CCD chip technology as image pick-up devices.

  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    CMOS, CCD, LBCAST, IAMAACHIP,.... WHATHAVEYOU,

    are all just different technologies that work best at that point of time, according to the manufacturers. nothing much to worry about

  8. #8
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    For me, as long as I like what I get out of the camera, I can't really be bothered whether it is using CMOS or CCD ...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    The N-brand users always say Canon DSLR are toy cameras because they use CMOS

    But now.....

    Anyway, Canon CMOS has very good track record - low noise, low power consumption, less dust attracting. Ff not why the other brand also adopt it right?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •