Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 83

Thread: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

  1. #61

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Since your camera is already in this condition. Why not take a risk and pick up some cleaning kit for sensor cleaning?
    Try it to clean the sensor yourself and maybe after doing it the first time, you will know it is not so difficult afterall... and who knows, next time you may be a expert. Usually when a newbie get a new camera body won't dare to try to clean the sensor themselves. --> I admit I am one.

    Like you, I have a old prime lens that is infested with fungus which belongs to my dad. Got advises from several workshop that it is not worth to do a cleaning and is cheaper to get a 2nd hand one in the market. I end up following some step-by-step guide on how to open up the lens on Youtude. Everything went smoothly until the last part (rear glass element or something), that I have a burr screwhead on one of the screws and was unable to take it out to clean. Unfortunately, that was the part that is most needed of a clean. Well, it was a failed attempt but I do enjoy the procedure and happy that at least I have tried.

  2. #62
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Thanks! Can clean fungus a not?

    eh nope =x
    Lousy de My Flickr

  3. #63
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by ziploc View Post
    The power rating of most dry cabinets are around 5-10 watts. Let say it is 10W. Energy used per month = 30 x 24 x 10 = 7.2kWh

    With effect from 1 Jul 2011, the electricity tariff for households will be 27.28 cents per kWh (source: Singapore Power)

    So monthly power bill = 7.2kWh x $0.2728/kWh = $1.96
    That's cheap. Thanks a lot. Very much appreciated. In that case... Hmmm maybe I shall buy one dry cabinet. Can I put my body under the sun for short while in long term basis to remove the fungus?

  4. #64
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by xtunbox View Post
    Since your camera is already in this condition. Why not take a risk and pick up some cleaning kit for sensor cleaning?
    Try it to clean the sensor yourself and maybe after doing it the first time, you will know it is not so difficult afterall... and who knows, next time you may be a expert. Usually when a newbie get a new camera body won't dare to try to clean the sensor themselves. --> I admit I am one.

    Like you, I have a old prime lens that is infested with fungus which belongs to my dad. Got advises from several workshop that it is not worth to do a cleaning and is cheaper to get a 2nd hand one in the market. I end up following some step-by-step guide on how to open up the lens on Youtude. Everything went smoothly until the last part (rear glass element or something), that I have a burr screwhead on one of the screws and was unable to take it out to clean. Unfortunately, that was the part that is most needed of a clean. Well, it was a failed attempt but I do enjoy the procedure and happy that at least I have tried.
    Haha maybe I will be like you soon. But I don't know which part it is infected. I don't know how to see. Looks like dust but stick on. Can use cotton bud stick and wipe a not? :X

  5. #65
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    eh nope =x
    Wah.. Maybe put under the sun works?

  6. #66
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Wah.. Maybe put under the sun works?
    hmm maybe u can search online? to see if put under sun will work anot?
    Lousy de My Flickr

  7. #67
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    hmm maybe u can search online? to see if put under sun will work anot?
    Some people said can. But I am afraid of my sensor getting fried

  8. #68
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    That's cheap. Thanks a lot. Very much appreciated. In that case... Hmmm maybe I shall buy one dry cabinet. Can I put my body under the sun for short while in long term basis to remove the fungus?
    No that will only cause sun burn and won't remove fungus on you. You need to use medicated power.

    Putting your camera under the sun will not remove the fungus on it's sensor either. What you can do is first to try cleaning the sensor by opening up the shutter (which in actual fact is cleaning one side of the "hotmirror"). If the fungus is on the other side of the hotmirror or on the sensor itself, you'll need to take them apart for cleaning.

  9. #69
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Some people said can. But I am afraid of my sensor getting fried
    think its better to get pro to help u..
    Lousy de My Flickr

  10. #70
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by ziploc View Post
    No that will only cause sun burn and won't remove fungus on you. You need to use medicated power.

    Putting your camera under the sun will not remove the fungus on it's sensor either. What you can do is first to try cleaning the sensor by opening up the shutter (which in actual fact is cleaning one side of the "hotmirror"). If the fungus is on the other side of the hotmirror or on the sensor itself, you'll need to take them apart for cleaning.
    Ooops :/

    I don't really know how to clean. I tried searching and it says remove dust only. By using the mirror lock or something and using the rocket blower and point the tip to the sensor and press and press and keep pressing.

  11. #71
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    think its better to get pro to help u..
    Yeah but I don't think Fatigue bro will want to help me anymore

  12. #72
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Yeah but I don't think Fatigue bro will want to help me anymore
    Give him a call and see what he says. He might or might not have the time to look at your camera. You never know till you try.

  13. #73
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Give him a call and see what he says. He might or might not have the time to look at your camera. You never know till you try.
    Alright I shall PM him and see what he replies. Thanks

  14. #74
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Yeah but I don't think Fatigue bro will want to help me anymore
    why? o.o? im sure if he got time he will
    Lousy de My Flickr

  15. #75
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    why? o.o? im sure if he got time he will
    Yeah but he is a busy guy. And a nice guy too. No time for a small boy like me.

  16. #76
    Senior Member luckyorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    2,843
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi View Post
    Yeah but he is a busy guy. And a nice guy too. No time for a small boy like me.
    -.-!!!! big or small also human =x
    Lousy de My Flickr

  17. #77
    Senior Member shierwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    3,335

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by ziploc View Post
    it takes a lot of courage to admit your own mistakes and correct them. You've done well.
    +1 :d :d :d

  18. #78
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Csboi

    Yeah but he is a busy guy. And a nice guy too. No time for a small boy like me.
    Please la, he is not that kind of person. And when he is busy, he has no choice but to turn down big boys and small boys alike.

  19. #79
    Senior Member shierwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    3,335

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Please la, he is not that kind of person. And when he is busy, he has no choice but to turn down big boys and small boys alike.
    Fatigue........ Where are you?

  20. #80
    Member Csboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pulau Ubin
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: What to do if my D70 has fungus? ):

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Please la, he is not that kind of person. And when he is busy, he has no choice but to turn down big boys and small boys alike.
    Yeah I agree to that! I will wait for him then. Good things are worth the wait

    Quote Originally Posted by shierwin View Post
    +1 :d :d :d
    Thanks and sorry.

    Quote Originally Posted by luckyorange View Post
    -.-!!!! big or small also human =x
    Hahahah yeah! :/

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •