Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > World of Nature

World of Nature Images of animals taken in the wild, in captivity or of pets in your home.

Old 25th September 2004   #1
Zplus

Default Sunbird.... SBG again...

Haven't been birding for a while.... and so today I stretched out my tele for some excercise.... all natural lighting...

"Everthing becomes sharper!"
Old 25th September 2004   #2
Caussway

Wow, so big. Amazing details. Like #2, very nicely captured. What's your setup ?
Old 25th September 2004   #3
Newguy69

I'm totally speechless Great works

Old 25th September 2004   #4
Buzz

Great Pics Man!!
Old 25th September 2004   #5
Garion

Nice pics Zplus! Good to see u shooting again.

2nd pic is great. Feather details is
Old 25th September 2004   #6
r52lanc

Default Sunbirds

Looks like 'Bigma' strikes again!

Robert
Old 25th September 2004   #7
Zplus

Thanks Caussway, Newguy69, Buzz, Garion, r52lanc!!! Trying out my new toy.... Robert: Yeah, Bigma is really amazing....

You can read about the setup and exif over here:
http://zplus.clubsnap.org/images/CanonEOS20D/

I like the way the details of the Bigma is being captured.... wasn't able to resolve so much detail with me prev cam. And the 8 megapix is truly great to crop.
Old 25th September 2004   #8
Caussway

Are these pics taken with your new 20D
Old 25th September 2004   #9
Zplus

Originally Posted by Caussway
Are these pics taken with your new 20D
Yes! I'm lovin it!
Old 26th September 2004   #10
Jeff

Very detailed. Would be a 1-UP if the background is taken care of too. The last pix appears to have some yellow/green cast, or is it my monitor?
Old 26th September 2004   #11
Garion

Originally Posted by Zplus
Yes! I'm lovin it!
Wah....I'm being tempted liao sia. The ability to crop is great...due to the 8Mpixels...
Old 26th September 2004   #12
Zplus

Originally Posted by Garion
Wah....I'm being tempted liao sia. The ability to crop is great...due to the 8Mpixels...
Hi Garion,

Yeah, its really very tempting. That's why I went out to get one after using it for a day. Its really good for fast movers. So many new features. Ok maybe some consider it evolutionary features.... ANyway, you also gain one stop in useable ISO, better and faster AF, 5fps, better buffer, ETTL2 (quite good, you can never over expose, it seems) and direct access to the 9 AF points. Think you can consider it since you are doing birds.
Old 26th September 2004   #13
Jeff

Originally Posted by Garion
Let me asure u that ur 300/2.8 will truely FLY on 20D.
Old 26th September 2004   #14
chngpe01

Hi Ben

Good to see you shooting birds again. Good work there
Old 26th September 2004   #15
Madcat II

so I c that you have a new toy liao ... did u oso get the v-grip too??
Old 27th September 2004   #16
Zplus

Thanks chngpe, yes, I've been away far too long... Rediscovering my love for nature again.

Madcat, yeah I would love to buy that too. Its not in stock yet though. Feels a little small without the vertical grip. Esp with the 50-500.
Old 27th September 2004   #17
ccplim

OMG! Look at those details in the 2nd pic! You 50-500 seems to be sharper than mine.
Old 27th September 2004   #18
jbma

Originally Posted by ccplim
OMG! Look at those details in the 2nd pic! You 50-500 seems to be sharper than mine.
Ya lah. Whay I cannot seem to get these kind of details with my lens?
Old 27th September 2004   #19
Zplus

jeff, I think the color cast may be light reflected off the leaves??

ccplim, jbma, I think the detail is partly due to the new cam. My prev 300D also did not resolve so much detail from the 50-500.
Old 30th September 2004   #20

That's quite a "stretch" Ben, well done!
Closed Thread