Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: AF converter ?

  1. #1

    Default AF converter ?

    Well i just want to know if there are any add ons in the market that can autofocus a lens on an entry body . Nikon cam , ty !

  2. #2
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,053

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    Why don't you post the question into Nikon subforum?
    EOS

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    23,821

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    afaik, don't have such thing, for any camera system,
    anything add between the lens and body, the lens won't be able to focus at infinity,
    even it is possible, buy a higher class Nikon body with built in AF motor will be far more economy, usable and reliable.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    Quote Originally Posted by AkemiOgre View Post
    Well i just want to know if there are any add ons in the market that can autofocus a lens on an entry body . Nikon cam , ty !
    Assuming such a converter could be made, it would be large, bulky and noisy. You would mess up the flange distance as well - you'll have problems with exposure, focus, etc.

    Lesson learned: Do your homework before buying. Other brands don't put such a limitation on the entry-level bodies.
    Alpha

  5. #5

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    There is no such accessory in the market as the AF system for each brand is patented.

  6. #6

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mkx0305 View Post
    There is no such accessory in the market as the AF system for each brand is patented.
    Nope it's not that at all. It's a limitation of mechanics. Sigma, Tamron, Tokina, all the companies that are licensees to the Nikon mount, heck even Nikon themselves could release the adapter, but why would they want to? It would be big, bulky, noisy, and introduce big headaches for the end users.
    Alpha

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,789

    Default

    It's like introducing an external motor drive. Sorry for my ignorance question: I thought there something like this for the old film based SLR?
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  8. #8
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    Out of interest, there was a series of old Nikon AF Teleconverter TC-16/a/s that you can read about, but these are pricey legacy items that are suppose to work on the faster MF nikkors with various restrictions.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    Quote Originally Posted by AkemiOgre View Post
    Well i just want to know if there are any add ons in the market that can autofocus a lens on an entry body . Nikon cam , ty !
    Would like to know which lens that you intend to use?

  10. #10
    Moderator rhino123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    5,251

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    AF converter... don't have. AF confirmation - yes.
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

  11. #11
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,632
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Nope it's not that at all. It's a limitation of mechanics. Sigma, Tamron, Tokina, all the companies that are licensees to the Nikon mount, heck even Nikon themselves could release the adapter, but why would they want to? It would be big, bulky, noisy, and introduce big headaches for the end users.
    Some of those 3rd party brands you mentioned did not pay license fees to Nikon... which is also why some of the older 3rd party lenses have metering issues with newer Nikon bodies.

  12. #12

    Default Re: AF converter ?

    There was an old Nikon 1.6x teleconverter that did this, but again it does not work with a non-motorized body.
    http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography...c16a/index.htm

    Pentax has the AFA 1.7x teleconverter that has a shifting element which is still in production. This gives some AF to a manual lens.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •