Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 31 of 31

Thread: Long exposure's setting

  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra

    Wah, multiply by 8 or 64 or 1000 also need app har? Siao liao la...

    All return to maths teacher liao?
    Not everyone fast thinking like u mah... I all return to library liao.... Hahaha!

  2. #22
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    Wah, multiply by 8 or 64 or 1000 also need app har? Siao liao la...

    All return to maths teacher liao?
    Theoretically everything that can be done in Excel can be done with a calculator.

    Same for O levels, all can be calculated by hand.... It's technology, as long as we don't get too lazy, I think there's nothing wrong with making full use of it - that's what technology is about right? Doing things faster, more efficiently, while doing less. Or perhaps you destroy your in-camera meter or draw over it with a marker pen to return to your basics...

  3. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye

    That works for me too. The lv with filter on trick didn't.
    @chiangkxv: If a 10 stop filter is the only ND filter you have at that moment, Bo bian have to use that if u need to achieve slow shutter right?
    Sorry. But why the question?

  4. #24
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by edutilos- View Post
    Theoretically everything that can be done in Excel can be done with a calculator.

    Same for O levels, all can be calculated by hand.... It's technology, as long as we don't get too lazy, I think there's nothing wrong with making full use of it - that's what technology is about right? Doing things faster, more efficiently, while doing less. Or perhaps you destroy your in-camera meter or draw over it with a marker pen to return to your basics...
    No la... I puffed too much on 'The Bong' and ended up flooding Orchard Road
    After that, I figured it was quicker to do simple mental arithmetic than rely on an app

    hey, whatever floats your boat, right?
    Exploring! :)

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chiangkxv

    Sorry. But why the question?
    Cos I had nvr succeed using lv to compose with the 10 stop filter on. Back then, this was my only ND filter, before I got cheapskates and got a ND fader... Bad mistake...
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  6. #26
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    Wah, multiply by 8 or 64 or 1000 also need app har? Siao liao la...

    All return to maths teacher liao?
    i am also guilty of it leh. the app calculate faster then my brain lol

  7. #27
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by sinned79 View Post
    i am also guilty of it leh. the app calculate faster then my brain lol
    then embrace technology!
    Exploring! :)

  8. #28
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    Cos I had nvr succeed using lv to compose with the 10 stop filter on. Back then, this was my only ND filter, before I got cheapskates and got a ND fader... Bad mistake...
    The older implementations of LV tend to be very rudimentary, like just thrown into the camera just to say it had LV.. At least for my K20D it was pretty hopeless.

    The newer ones should be better and closer to what P&S do, i.e. they "boost" the image, so 10 stop filters in strong sunlight, or even before sunset timing, should not be a problem..

    So yes, it has made it easier to shoot long exposures, in some sense... Of course I could take out the filter and recompose through OVF, but it's so much easier to just mount the filter and compose.

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edutilos-

    The older implementations of LV tend to be very rudimentary, like just thrown into the camera just to say it had LV.. At least for my K20D it was pretty hopeless.

    The newer ones should be better and closer to what P&S do, i.e. they "boost" the image, so 10 stop filters in strong sunlight, or even before sunset timing, should not be a problem..

    So yes, it has made it easier to shoot long exposures, in some sense... Of course I could take out the filter and recompose through OVF, but it's so much easier to just mount the filter and compose.
    Is D300s rudimentary?
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  10. #30
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    Is D300s rudimentary?
    I don't know leh, because I have never touched a D300s before.

    But if you cannot see the image when a ND110 is placed over your lens in bright daylight (noontime, for example, with the sun out), then I would consider it a rudimentary implementation of LV.

  11. #31
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    I believe the live view is suppose to be a reflection of what you see based on the settings ( within limits and probably not work when the exposure time is much slower than the frame rate of liveview I think , at least for my 5d2 ) .

    If your setting is already heavily underexposed with an ND110, the live view visual would be pitch black?

    Ryan

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •