Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Long exposure's setting

  1. #1

    Default Long exposure's setting

    Hi Bros & Sis,
    i've been doing long exposure shots for quite sometime, usually is about 1 min > shot (Wif the aid of ND110 ND filter)
    something is confusing me,

    1) If i am shooting a architecture Landscape, my f/Stop should be f16-18 or just crank it all the way to f22-32 ?
    2) If it is f/16-f18 will my background be a little bit out of focus compare to my foreground ?
    3) Should i use auto or manual focus ? Or should i just turn it to infinity focus ?


    help appreciated ... Thanks
    Just Shoot It ...

  2. #2
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    1) If i am shooting a architecture Landscape, my f/Stop should be f16-18 or just crank it all the way to f22-32 ?

    You need to read up and understand the use of stopping down aperture, and the ill effects of diffraction as aperture gets smaller and smaller.

    2) If it is f/16-f18 will my background be a little bit out of focus compare to my foreground ?

    It depends on where you focus, but in general the smaller the aperture the greater the depth of field.

    3) Should i use auto or manual focus ? Or should i just turn it to infinity focus ?

    Auto or manual focus will do as long as they do the job.
    Infinity focus is not the solution to all your landscape shooting, you can try reading up on hyperfocal distance. I usually just focus approx 1/3 into the scene.

    Ryan

  3. #3

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by fatBozZ View Post
    Hi Bros & Sis,
    i've been doing long exposure shots for quite sometime, usually is about 1 min > shot (Wif the aid of ND110 ND filter)
    something is confusing me,

    1) If i am shooting a architecture Landscape, my f/Stop should be f16-18 or just crank it all the way to f22-32 ?
    2) If it is f/16-f18 will my background be a little bit out of focus compare to my foreground ?
    3) Should i use auto or manual focus ? Or should i just turn it to infinity focus ?


    help appreciated ... Thanks
    1) At smaller apertures you will suffer loss of definition caused by diffraction. Personally, I shoot landscape at f16, rarely at f22. But then again, it is recommended that you shoot at different f-stops to see the differences yourself.

    2) It may be difficult to comment on this point w/o providing a sample pic. You can read up on hyperfocal distance and learn how to focus at the right spot to bring the background to focus.

    3) Manual focus. Mount the camera on a tripod (I think this is an understatement for long exposure photography), take an exposure reading first with your camera in auto focus mode. Switch your camera to manual mode with manual focus and put on your filter. Activate the shutter with a cable release or via timer to minimise camera shakes.

    Anyone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.
    D200

  4. #4
    Moderator rhino123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    5,247

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    A search in the google yield great number of results.


    http://www.digital-photography-schoo...al-photography

    To retain detail throughout the scene plump for a small aperture (large f stop) such as f14, alternatively try throwing out the sharpness of either the foreground or background by choosing a large aperture (small f stop).
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

  5. #5

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Thank you so much for all your tips and tricks ... hopefully i can bring u guys some good pics ....
    Just Shoot It ...

  6. #6

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by bruggink View Post
    1)
    3) Manual focus. Mount the camera on a tripod (I think this is an understatement for long exposure photography), take an exposure reading first with your camera in auto focus mode. Switch your camera to manual mode with manual focus and put on your filter. Activate the shutter with a cable release or via timer to minimise camera shakes.
    Anyone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.
    Errr... out of curiosity, what's the rationale behind switching to AF to take a meter reading? Surely AF/MF is irrelevant for metering?

    You're right about diffraction issues of course.

    TS, there ain't no magic settings -- others have pointed out the diffraction issues at small apertures, but for 2) nobody can tell without a SPECIFIC situation. Use your DOF preview or calculate (if you really want to be 'precise').
    MF or AF both work, and will depend on a) the specific situation, b) your preferred method of working.

    Please don't get hung up on finding the 'ideal' method of working, settings, etc. Try different things out and find out what works FOR YOU.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwin Francis View Post
    Errr... out of curiosity, what's the rationale behind switching to AF to take a meter reading? Surely AF/MF is irrelevant for metering?
    Pardon me for not being precise in my explanation. I've tried manual focus and the results, sometimes good and sometimes bad (especially when you are trying long exposures under freaking cold environment). I find using AF first and manually input the exposure settings the fastest way, at least to me. Over time, it has become a habit to me. I guess there are many ways so I just picked one that floats my boat.
    D200

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    SG, Melbourne
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by bruggink View Post
    Pardon me for not being precise in my explanation. I've tried manual focus and the results, sometimes good and sometimes bad (especially when you are trying long exposures under freaking cold environment). I find using AF first and manually input the exposure settings the fastest way, at least to me. Over time, it has become a habit to me. I guess there are many ways so I just picked one that floats my boat.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, we need to get obtain the exposure time w/o the filter as you mentioned in Aperture priority mode, then multiply the figure by 2^10 (or 1024) for the 10 stop ND Filter that FatBoZz is using and set that in manual mode using the same Aperture used in Aperture Priority mode?

  9. #9

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by dandoodle View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong, we need to get obtain the exposure time w/o the filter as you mentioned in Aperture priority mode, then multiply the figure by 2^10 (or 1024) for the 10 stop ND Filter that FatBoZz is using and set that in manual mode using the same Aperture used in Aperture Priority mode?
    Yup.. tats right.
    D200

  10. #10

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by fatBozZ View Post
    Hi Bros & Sis,
    i've been doing long exposure shots for quite sometime, usually is about 1 min > shot (Wif the aid of ND110 ND filter)
    something is confusing me,

    1) If i am shooting a architecture Landscape, my f/Stop should be f16-18 or just crank it all the way to f22-32 ?
    2) If it is f/16-f18 will my background be a little bit out of focus compare to my foreground ?
    3) Should i use auto or manual focus ? Or should i just turn it to infinity focus ?


    help appreciated ... Thanks
    1. Use any aperture to get your required exposure time. But do bear in mind diffraction when using very small aperture which may affect sharpness.
    2. Learn to use hyper focal distance.
    3. Same as #2

  11. #11

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by dandoodle View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong, we need to get obtain the exposure time w/o the filter as you mentioned in Aperture priority mode, then multiply the figure by 2^10 (or 1024) for the 10 stop ND Filter that FatBoZz is using and set that in manual mode using the same Aperture used in Aperture Priority mode?
    Actually. with the implementation of live view, that is not necessary. Though i still have the habit of doing so.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chiangkxv

    Actually. with the implementation of live view, that is not necessary. Though i still have the habit of doing so.
    You still can't do with 10 stop filter and required exposure longer than 30 seconds. You will still get pitch black on lv.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye

    You still can't do with 10 stop filter and required exposure longer than 30 seconds. You will still get pitch black on lv.
    I'm not sure why you say so, but I'm still able to see in bulb mode. But That is when I'm outdoor with sufficient light.

  14. #14
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    You still can't do with 10 stop filter and required exposure longer than 30 seconds. You will still get pitch black on lv.
    I have done it a lot of times...

  15. #15

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    You still can't do with 10 stop filter and required exposure longer than 30 seconds. You will still get pitch black on lv.
    i compose, get the shutter speed, screw on the filter and re-calculate my final shutter speed... and that works for me

  16. #16

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by chiangkxv View Post
    I'm not sure why you say so, but I'm still able to see in bulb mode. But That is when I'm outdoor with sufficient light.
    Why qualified your statement? What if insufficient light and exposure exceed 30s? How do you know how long to keep it in bulb mode if you don't calculate?

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GRbenji

    Why qualified your statement? What if insufficient light and exposure exceed 30s? How do you know how long to keep it in bulb mode if you don't calculate?
    Usually i'll take note of the aperture value for correct exposure with 30s exposure, then switch to bulb make necessary compensation to get the exposure time I want.

    If there is insufficient light for LV to work, then most probably you won't need the nd filter unless you are doing 1/2 an hour kind of exposure.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kei1309

    i compose, get the shutter speed, screw on the filter and re-calculate my final shutter speed... and that works for me
    That works for me too. The lv with filter on trick didn't.
    @chiangkxv: If a 10 stop filter is the only ND filter you have at that moment, Bo bian have to use that if u need to achieve slow shutter right?
    Last edited by Cowseye; 20th July 2011 at 07:40 AM.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  19. #19

    Default Re: Long exposure's setting

    Quote Originally Posted by kei1309 View Post
    i compose, get the shutter speed, screw on the filter and re-calculate my final shutter speed... and that works for me
    There is an app which can be downloaded onto your iphone that will caluclate for you. Its called the Longtime Exposure Calculator. Go to the apps store and get it. Its free.

  20. #20
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Omahom

    There is an app which can be downloaded onto your iphone that will caluclate for you. Its called the Longtime Exposure Calculator. Go to the apps store and get it. Its free.
    Wah, multiply by 8 or 64 or 1000 also need app har? Siao liao la...

    All return to maths teacher liao?
    Exploring! :)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •