Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Printers and Scanners

Printers and Scanners Discuss printing and scanning topics here

Old 24th September 2004   #1
paracetamol

Default Good digital photo printer

anyone has any printer to recommend? best if it's one that you are using, or you saw your friend using. intending to get 1, but not too expensive. might want to print up to A4 size =p
Old 26th September 2004   #2
skyline_impreza

budget budget
Old 26th September 2004   #3
tunster

Canon Pixma
Sponsored Link
Old 26th September 2004   #4
AJ23

Epson R210, cheap and good.
Old 26th September 2004   #5
lightchaser

Talking

Espon R210 is good. I use it myself.
Old 26th September 2004   #6
Adam Goi
ClubSNAP Idol

You may wanna check out the new Canon Pixma series ... Was @ Funan Centre over the weekend and they were doing some demo and promotion ... not sure if it's still on ...
Old 26th September 2004   #7
nightpiper

these pixma printers r pretty good. canon is really scary... powerful product at such low price (pixma3000).

heard there's a i9950 killer soon from pixma, so watch this space.

Last edited by nightpiper; 26th September 2004 at 08:14 PM.
Old 28th September 2004   #8
Neo

Hi Nightpiper,

A i9950 killer from the PIXMA series? You mean an A3+ photo printer will be available from the PIXMA line-up? Woah... the i9950 is pretty incredible with its speed and 8-colour photo printing already...

What's next? 10 colours? Heheheh!
Old 28th September 2004   #9
sulhan
Advertiser

Default Hahahah.....

Originally Posted by nightpiper
these pixma printers r pretty good. canon is really scary... powerful product at such low price (pixma3000).

heard there's a i9950 killer soon from pixma, so watch this space.
Thats the strategy .........get the printer to the masses cheap.....trapping them into buying their expensive ink......

rgds,
me
Old 28th September 2004   #10
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by sulhan
Thats the strategy .........get the printer to the masses cheap.....trapping them into buying their expensive ink......

rgds,
me
tats wat HP did... :x
Old 28th September 2004   #11
nightpiper

no lah, canon ink is still the cheapest among the other 2.

Originally Posted by Neo
Hi Nightpiper,
A i9950 killer from the PIXMA series? You mean an A3+ photo printer will be available from the PIXMA line-up? Woah... the i9950 is pretty incredible with its speed and 8-colour photo printing already...

i heard its another A3 8 inker & it prints more beautifully than the i9950. i also thot the i9950 is damn good already but canon surprises us once again!

luckily have not bot the i9950 yet, was this close to getting it man!!
Old 28th September 2004   #12
jbma

Epson R210. Cheap and good
Old 29th September 2004   #13
Neo

Eh... I think Canon "smoke" me leh... I called them asking about the "secret" A3 photo printer, but they say no A3 model for the PIXMA series. Since the new A4 PIXMA printers can print on CDs, maybe the A3 printers can print on LDs? Heheheheheh!
Old 29th September 2004   #14
AJ23

Originally Posted by Neo
Eh... I think Canon "smoke" me leh... I called them asking about the "secret" A3 photo printer, but they say no A3 model for the PIXMA series. Since the new A4 PIXMA printers can print on CDs, maybe the A3 printers can print on LDs? Heheheheheh!
U kena "smoked" liao.

There's still the 5000 and 8000 series that's not released, maybe those are the A3/A3+ models.
Old 29th September 2004   #15
skyline_impreza

Originally Posted by Neo
Hi Nightpiper,

I think you all mean the PIXMA 8500, this model will arrived in Singapore at around nov. Yup, this model uses 8 ink but it is an A4 printer. No imformation about a A3 PIXMA printer.

SO far, Canon only bring in printers till 4000R. There are also 5000, 6000 and 8500.

Took from Canon USA -
This powerhouse printer combines next-generation print head technology with advanced 5-color printing, for fast, high-definition photos. Canon Full-photolithography Inkjet Nozzle Engineering (FINE) uses a high-performance 1,856-nozzle print head that ejects precise, consistent droplets as small as 1 picoliter. The result? An amazing resolution of up to 9600 x 2400 color dpi,1 for detail and clarity unmatched by comparable printers. Plus, the ContrastPLUS™ 5-color ink system - with four dye-based inks plus a pigment-based black ink - produces true-life photos, along with laser-quality text. Your output will simply amaze you.

I must say that I like the PIXMA design alot. I think it looks cool.
Old 29th September 2004   #16
digipat2003

how about epson r310 ?
Old 29th September 2004   #17
Larren Chen

i865 also not bad...
Old 29th September 2004   #18
Neo

Hahaha... yah... tokking about the i865... my friend bought one for his office... and he bought the optional duplex unit and optional paper cassette tray... maybe I should buy a PIXMA printer which has ALL these goodies BUILT-IN for less than a basic i865, just to agitate him! Hahahaha!

9600x2400 dpi? 1 picolitre ink droplet? Really... the technological advancements today are astounding...
Old 29th September 2004   #19
saberlancer

Correct me if I'm wrong but tink only Epson provides ICC profiles?
Old 30th September 2004   #20
Altezza

Canon Pixma range almost same as Japanese Pixus range. Pixma here is A4 range, A3 i9950 is same as Japanese Pixus 9900. Top of the line still 8 colour.

Eg. Top of line Pixus (maybe same as yet to be released Pixma 8500)

http://cweb.canon.jp/pixus/lineup/ip8600/index.html
Closed Thread