Thread: Multiple-battery charger

Default Multiple-battery charger

Hi there! I'm a amateur photographer who will be travelling to China next month to capture some life over there. I foresee myself leaving my hotel room in the morning and only returning in the night.

I'm a little worried over the power issue. Currently using a Canon 50D. I intend to bring 4-5 batteries, but am wondering how am I suppose to charge them at night all at one go before I wake up the next morning. Is there such a thing in the market as a multiple battery charger for my line of Canon batteries? Or do I have to purchase 5 different single chargers and use them all via a multiple wall plug?

Any advice from travellers and photographers who travel often for shoots?

Thanks in advance

What are you shooting? How many shots u will be taking in one day? Not sure abt 50D, but a D90 with full charge can last me one full day with 900+ shots. The most I'll bring is two batt with a quick recharger. Wake up in the middle of the night to swap battery to charge if needed.

Though it's possible that you will have high usage, but do consider the practicality of 3 to 5 charger. Enel-4a is the only battery charger I know that comes with a duo charger for two battery at one go.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

Default Re: Multiple-battery charger

i'll be doing more documentary, but i'll probably be cover several land and city scapes. any other suggestions to manage to batteries if i have to bring 4-5 batteries?

buy more chargers??

Do you think you will shoot more than 1000pics a day? I've shot 1200pictures on 2 pcs BP511A in a batt grip over the span of 12hrs on my 50D. Based on my experience with the batts in Singapore weather, i think you don't have to worry so much about charging all five batts in a night. Unless the cold weather causes your batts to lose it charge very very quickly.