Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2nd photographer!!

Default 2nd photographer!!

My friend ask me to be 2nd photographer for her wedding. How much should I charge? I am still quite new to wedding photography so I don't expect much but how should I charge? For 2 days.

If friend why not do it for free? Since you are not that experience too.

Default Re: 2nd photographer!!

Iirc its about $70/hour for second photographer.
    My photo page: TDR Photography

Take it as a learning opportunity and don't charge anything. Until you are good enugh, then think of charging other people.

Quote Originally Posted by crystal1993 View Post
    If friend why not do it for free? Since you are not that experience too.
    Quote Originally Posted by rhino123 View Post
    Take it as a learning opportunity and don't charge anything. Until you are good enugh, then think of charging other people.
    "If you are good at something never do it for free." - Joker

But you're not good yet, so yeah. lol

Kiddings aside, if your friend is willing to pay, I'd say don't deny this person of a side income. Charge what both of you feel comfortable with. But if charging will put a strain on your relationship, don't do it. Your friendship and the experience will be much more valuable that what you'll get paid for.
    Last edited by symmetrix; 8th July 2011 at 10:12 AM.

I think if I am you, I will do it for free because I am being 'paid' for being given a chance to practice and experience on being a wedding photographer. It might not be nice to ask for a fee unless you friend asked you how much you want to charge. Even so, I would probably say "if you insist, just give me an ang bao will do."

The moment you charge a fee, then you must be able to produce quality photos to their satisfaction. So if you are not that experienced or confident then maybe not.

Quote Originally Posted by gundamseed84 View Post