Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

  1. #1

    Default FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Have search through Goggle and did everything except the modifying of the lens or camera as I am very afraid of damaging them.
    I did use my friend 50mm 1.4 on my camera and also this problem came out. But as I had bought this 50mm 1.8d, I really had to sort out this problem.

    Nothing wrong when using it with my Kit Lens of 18-105.

    Please advise, tearing my hair out over this. Do you guys need pics of the lens or camera?

  2. #2

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    FEE error turns up when a lens with aperture ring not turned to smallest aperture reading is attached to the camera body. Turn the aperture ring to 22, problem should be solved.

  3. #3

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Had done this already. With the orange spots to each other.

  4. #4
    Member fmeeran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Clementi, Singapore
    Posts
    834

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Try moving the aperture to higher and going back to smallest aperture and lock it.. If that doesn't help, you can try cleaning the contacts.
    Dxxxx | 35/1.8 | 50/1.8 | Tokina 28-70 | Panny G1 | 14-45 | 25/1.7
    My Flickr

  5. #5

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    okay. What do I use to clean it? Alcohol swipes or?

  6. #6
    Member fmeeran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Clementi, Singapore
    Posts
    834

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Dxxxx | 35/1.8 | 50/1.8 | Tokina 28-70 | Panny G1 | 14-45 | 25/1.7
    My Flickr

  7. #7

    Default

    Sometimes you need to fiddle around with it. Might be abit loose, nit related to the contact points at all.

  8. #8

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Have tried most of the internet methods. Including the put rubber band one. Just does not work. Guess will have to use the aperture ring and not using the metering from the camera. If any bros out there has any other solution, please advise, thank you. And the lens is able to auto focus well.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Quote Originally Posted by mammothboot View Post
    Have tried most of the internet methods. Including the put rubber band one. Just does not work. Guess will have to use the aperture ring and not using the metering from the camera. If any bros out there has any other solution, please advise, thank you. And the lens is able to auto focus well.
    sometimes the aperture indexing tab on the camera has some dirt in the contacts so the camera doesnt register that the lens in stopped down all the way. you can test this out by setting the camera to use the aperture ring and checking if the displayed aperture is the same as the aperture set on the lens. the problem will show when they re not the same.

    you can try just flicking the aperture tab on the camera to 'exercise' it.

    this happened to me when my d200 got splashed by seawater, but its good again.

    btw, i use the aperture ring to adjust the aperture for all my lenses. find its alot faster and more convenient. you might wanna try that out =)
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  10. #10

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Will rubbing the contacts help? Cause I have been doing that.
    Yup, have been using the apeture ring, except the camera light meter doesn't give the right figures. Will have to shoot more to exprience it.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Quote Originally Posted by mammothboot View Post
    Will rubbing the contacts help? Cause I have been doing that.
    Yup, have been using the apeture ring, except the camera light meter doesn't give the right figures. Will have to shoot more to exprience it.
    means (for example) that the aperture ring on the lens is set to 5.6 but the camera reads 4(or 8)? i means the aperture tab is not working properly. pull the tab on the camera and the let go so that it springs back. do it over and over until it works properly. happened to my d200 before
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  12. #12

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    the tab on the camera. found on the place where is the lens is inserted?

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    yes, the aperture indexing(AI) tab on the camera. google if unsure which exactly
    Quote Originally Posted by mammothboot View Post
    the tab on the camera. found on the place where is the lens is inserted?
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  14. #14

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    OH YEAH! Solve the problem! Really is the aperture indexing(AI) tab. Apparently mine has chipped off. Didnt really notice it till now. Thanks alots, Ben Ang!

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Quote Originally Posted by mammothboot View Post
    OH YEAH! Solve the problem! Really is the aperture indexing(AI) tab. Apparently mine has chipped off. Didnt really notice it till now. Thanks alots, Ben Ang!
    No problem! my invoice is on its way, do forward payment within one week or receipt. =PP enjoy the camera!
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  16. #16

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Haha. Thanks!

  17. #17
    Senior Member fatigue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Blk138 Bedok North Ave3
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    Quote Originally Posted by mammothboot View Post
    OH YEAH! Solve the problem! Really is the aperture indexing(AI) tab. Apparently mine has chipped off. Didnt really notice it till now. Thanks alots, Ben Ang!
    Probably a pre AI Nikon lens was mounted on the camera before.
    9815-1974
    FB: Hilos Camera Repair

  18. #18

    Default Re: FEE Error with 50mm1.8D on D200

    maybe so, I bought 2nd hand. so am not very sure.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •