Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

  1. #1

    Question Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Hi friends,

    I put another question to ask about feature bracketing sequence inside the camera .

    There are two options to select under this feature :
    Option 1. Metered Exposed -> Under Exposed -> Over Exposed
    Option 2. Under Exposed -> Metered Exposed -> Over Exposed

    From my understanding there is no different about these options , because all still goes three steps to meter .

    Can you help me to explain why there is a such feature like this one ? and what is the different between those options ?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    AFAIK, there is no difference in the image captured. but it's just the filename sequence.

    e.g.

    Sequence: Metered > Under > Over
    File-001 > Metered
    File-002 > Under
    File-003> Over

    Sequence: Under > Metered > Over
    File-001 > Under
    File-002 > Metered
    File-003> Over

    It helps when you are sorting images by filename.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  3. #3
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by biskandar View Post
    Hi friends,

    I put another question to ask about feature bracketing sequence inside the camera .

    There are two options to select under this feature :
    Option 1. Metered Exposed -> Under Exposed -> Over Exposed
    Option 2. Under Exposed -> Metered Exposed -> Over Exposed

    From my understanding there is no different about these options , because all still goes three steps to meter .

    Can you help me to explain why there is a such feature like this one ? and what is the different between those options ?
    Just sequencing lor....

    From experience usually cameras do option 1 by default and don't allow you to change the sequence. I myself prefer option 2, and it would be nice to have it available so that I can see the exposures in ascending sequence of exposure.

    Just personal preference only lor.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    mine only does option 1...I would very much prefer option 2....too bad not able to set it.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  5. #5

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    No difference
    It's just the order, choose whichever you prefer.
    I personally prefer option 2 as well

  6. #6

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    i using option 2 coz if u take the same scene with 2 set of AEB (6 exposures), going through the pics will make me confuse. lol

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    I was using option 2. But switch to option one because I feel the correct composition is a greater criteria for me whether to process the HDR.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by seanyzf View Post
    i using option 2 coz if u take the same scene with 2 set of AEB (6 exposures), going through the pics will make me confuse. lol
    Even on my 3 shot exposure, I already confused. And end up deleting the wrong image...*alamak*, cos I thought is overexposed -.-"'
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  9. #9
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    Even on my 3 shot exposure, I already confused. And end up deleting the wrong image...*alamak*, cos I thought is overexposed -.-"'
    Actually if you take just one pic slightly overexposed I.e. Exposed 'to the right' you can adjust the settings in lightroom/software to get more contrast by playing with highlights and shadows. Dunno if you've tried that before. It's not outright HDR but the pics come out more natural. sometimes HDR can go 'over' quite easily.

    For lazy people like me that take 3/6/9 pics and end up using one to edit.
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  10. #10
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye
    I was using option 2. But switch to option one because I feel the correct composition is a greater criteria for me whether to process the HDR.
    Is it more troublesome to manually set option 2 or is option 2 something you'll have to manually trigger after every shot..?
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    btw, the option 2 I'm refering to is the one listed by TS.

    Which option to be used is set in camera menu. Once set, all subsequent bracketed shot will be done in that manner.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by bonrya View Post
    Is it more troublesome to manually set option 2 or is option 2 something you'll have to manually trigger after every shot..?
    not very troublesome on my d700, but needed reassigning my FUNC button. seriously useless feature, just faster to turn the dial myself. And can decide if i want -3stop but +2stop etc.

    you can either physically push the shutter trigger for each bracketing exposure yourself or you can use burst shooting for burst bracket (feature). Not sure if you can cancel it mid way.
    Last edited by foxtwo; 26th June 2011 at 12:47 PM.

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by bonrya View Post
    Actually if you take just one pic slightly overexposed I.e. Exposed 'to the right' you can adjust the settings in lightroom/software to get more contrast by playing with highlights and shadows. Dunno if you've tried that before. It's not outright HDR but the pics come out more natural. sometimes HDR can go 'over' quite easily.

    For lazy people like me that take 3/6/9 pics and end up using one to edit.
    I know what you mean....I tend to do the same too
    - my skills to do HDR is bad
    - I don't exactly know when to use HDR and when not to (so in fear of losing that moment, I took all).
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by foxtwo View Post
    not very troublesome on my d700, but needed reassigning my FUNC button. seriously useless feature, just faster to turn the dial myself. And can decide if i want -3stop but +2stop etc.
    But wouldn't turning the dial "move" your frame alittle? (or is it my gorilla strength that shook the camera while adjusting the dial )
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike View Post
    But wouldn't turning the dial "move" your frame alittle? (or is it my gorilla strength that shook the camera while adjusting the dial )
    my tripod is heavy duty, able to support up to large format camera. lol so no, won't affect frame much. i still will be more careful when bracketing is required, no jerks just tender touches.

  16. #16
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by foxtwo View Post
    my tripod is heavy duty, able to support up to large format camera. lol so no, won't affect frame much. i still will be more careful when bracketing is required, no jerks just tender touches.
    Mine is a Sirui + G10 works great for single shots but starts jerking when it fires like a machine gun (burst shots).
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    Mine is a Sirui + G10 works great for single shots but starts jerking when it fires like a machine gun (burst shots).
    Hang ur bag under your sirui tripod hook, it helps a lot
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  18. #18
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    Hang ur bag under your sirui tripod hook, it helps a lot
    I also can't be sure that it's the tripod or BH or the lens itself....cos I normally do burst when at the range of 250mm... Anyway, will try it again next time.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike

    I also can't be sure that it's the tripod or BH or the lens itself....cos I normally do burst when at the range of 250mm... Anyway, will try it again next time.
    Lol, that advice is good for landscape. Birding is yet another ball game on its own.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  20. #20
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: Bracketing Sequence Feature , what is the different ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    Lol, that advice is good for landscape. Birding is yet another ball game on its own.
    Not into birding.... (too expensive) but used to be sun chaser.

    *I think best not to OT too much...*
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •