Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: problem with exporting using lightroom

  1. #1

    Default problem with exporting using lightroom

    Hi, recently i noticed that when i export JPEG file after editing a RAW file, the end product looks extremely different from the one in the editing screen. Alot of banding can be seen, images are much softer than in the develop screen. I set my export to 100% quality. Dont know what's the issue. Can someone tell me isit because when a RAW file is exported and compressed into JPEG, there is some damage done? I would like to upload a comparison of both photos here but i cant upload a RAW file here! Please advise thank you (:

  2. #2
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    Please post the problematic jpg file.
    EOS

  3. #3

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    i'm trying to upload a screenshot of the RAW image placed beside exported but clubsnap keeps telling me undefined...

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    you need to uncheck that checkbox "Retrieve remote file and reference locally" Was facing this issue yesterday.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  5. #5
    Member emlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,761

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    without seeing your post, 1 suggestion is to generate a 1:1 preview of your image in Lightroom after you are done with the editing (before export). some changes are drastic and the standard preview may not reveal the extend of the change. Also, zoom in 1:1 in the area you say there is banding to check.

  6. #6

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike View Post
    you need to uncheck that checkbox "Retrieve remote file and reference locally" Was facing this issue yesterday.
    sorry, where is this checkbox? Cant find it under settings....

  7. #7

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom



    here is the comparison between the lightroom preview screen and the exported jpeg file, i lose a lot of lighting, and everything becomes softer...help please!

  8. #8
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default

    Please post a screenshot of the dialog box that appears during export. Could be one of your settings.
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    I get the feeling it's the color space thingy. Can't be sure till TS posts the export settings dialog box
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  10. #10

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    MOst probably due to colour profile thingy. I have yet to solved mine yet

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    (most prob) have to wait for another week before TS reply back to this thread
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  12. #12

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom



    well i didnt take another week, but here are the settings, i believe whatever above these (file location/name) are not important....

  13. #13
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    1) Which program do you use for viewing the jpg?
    2) Is your system calibrated?
    EOS

  14. #14

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    i cannot see the banding.
    the change in colour might have something to do with colourspace
    softness of the picture, could be a) due to reduction of no of pixes and b) no sharpening applied during export.
    Never forget rule 5
    My Flickr

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    (oops, that is fast..)

    Have you also tried to use the "Long Edge" instead of specifying "Width & Height"?
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  16. #16

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    1) Which program do you use for viewing the jpg?
    2) Is your system calibrated?
    I use windows photo viewer, may i know how do you calibrate the system?

  17. #17

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    i cannot see the banding.
    the change in colour might have something to do with colourspace
    softness of the picture, could be a) due to reduction of no of pixes and b) no sharpening applied during export.
    Thanks for the tip on sharpening application, much better photo export sharpness now (:

    I also suspected the colourspace problem, i tried all options but they seemed to give me the same result, I will go home and experiment further!

  18. #18
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by cheeken View Post
    I use windows photo viewer, may i know how do you calibrate the system?
    Seems you need to read up a few things... Ok.. here we go.
    Some technical basics... good to know: http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/articles/calibrating.htm
    In short: calibrating will measure how colours (which are digitally coded in image files) are displayed at your monitor. Since the data from the file go a long way through application, operating system, display driver, cable and monitor till they reach your eye there is plenty of space for deviations. Calibrating measures the deviations for all base colours, generating a colour profile. This profile describes all deviations and (when loaded at system start) it is applied in negative way, thus balancing off all system-induced colour shifts and giving a neutral colour reproduction.
    There are software tools and hardware tools. Software tools will use your eye to compare colours and patterns with given examples. It might work for a beginning, but our eyes are far from being accurate, easily deceived and getting tired. Hardware tools are reliable and never get tired, the newer ones can even consider ambient light in the room. You can check Spyder3 from Datacolor.
    The next point is about embedded colour profiles and colour spaces. Two colour spaces are mainly used: sRGB and AdobeRGB. The first one is widely used in Internet and for consumers, the latter one is used for professional work. They are not the same, obviously. So any image file should have a remark about the used colour space, this is called embedded ICC profile. And: in order to render your image properly an application should recognize these profiles and apply the info. That's the point where the Windows Picture Viewer is loosing badly. It simply ignores all this colour profile stuffs and renders whatever it thinks it should be. Since we as photographer want to define how the picture looks like this program is clearly off.
    Here a simple test for your browser: http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...profiles.html#
    You will see the effects of embedded profiles between pictures in sRGB and AdobeRGB.
    Here is a list of image viewers and their details: https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikiped..._image_viewers
    Check "Features" and compare the column "colour management (ICC)".
    EOS

  19. #19

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    So in a nutshell, by using a hardware calibrating device will solve all the problem with colour? I also notice that AdobeRGB has duller colour as compare to sRGB on the same pic, if we send our print to photolab, using sRGb will be more than sufficient right?

  20. #20
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: problem with exporting using lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by seanyzf View Post
    So in a nutshell, by using a hardware calibrating device will solve all the problem with colour? I also notice that AdobeRGB has duller colour as compare to sRGB on the same pic, if we send our print to photolab, using sRGb will be more than sufficient right?
    Calibration will help you to make sure that whatever is coded in the image will be displayed properly. There are other issues, still.
    AdobeRGB is a different colour space. What you observed is nothing but the rendering of an AdobeRGB image using sRGB colour space, the colours appear muted, duller. Reason could be that a) there was no ICC profile embedded or b) the application was not able to recognize the AdobeRGB ICC profile and to render the image accordingly. Check the browser test link in my previous posting.
    EOS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •