Thread: Filters

Default Filters

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie. I hv a Nikon D3000. From what I've read so far, it seems to be one of the worst starter kit to own but I bought it, so I'm stick with it.

I do want to know though if getting a polarizing filter will help me. I find that the colours of the pictures I take with the D3000 lacking in vibrance. Can the seniors please help me?

If it does, where can I find affordable filters?

Thanks!

Default Re: Filters

1. Post pictures with embedded EXIF information on Clubsnap so that other may assist after reading the EXIF information
    2. Polarizing filter is not a certainty in improving picture vibrancy
    3. Some post-processing may help to improve picture vibrancy

The best way to troubleshoot this situation is like what Squid mentioned. Upload an image with EXIF, It's much easier that way to find out what's the issue.

A polarizing filter may not have little or no effect under certain situations (E.g. Heavy overcasts) other than acting like a ND.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

Quote Originally Posted by wahlau View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie. I hv a Nikon D3000. From what I've read so far, it seems to be one of the worst starter kit to own but I bought it, so I'm stick with it.

I do want to know though if getting a polarizing filter will help me. I find that the colours of the pictures I take with the D3000 lacking in vibrance. Can the seniors please help me?

Thanks!
    DSLR results tend to be more subdued if you're used to the output from consumer P&S.

This is because more neutral results means you have greater control over the results when you post -process, which most manufacturers actually expect people to do. Because contrast, saturation are all destructive processes, it's easy to gain contrast in post, but not so easy to get back the detail that is lost as a result of over-harsh processing in-camera.