Thread: Beginner’s Basics – Gear Recommendations and Reviews

Default Beginner’s Basics – Gear Recommendations and Reviews

Hi guys! Something interesting today – I’ve decided to start a new (!) series aimed at beginners. It seems that my Everything Events series is my most popular (amongst my other articles). But what would you like to see? Drop a reply on my Facebook page or post a suggestion in this thread and let me know.

Also, if you enjoy reading my articles and you’ve learned something useful from them, do “like” my Facebook page. It lets me know that you guys enjoy my content! Your support means a lot to me!

The first part of the article will cover the camera model and speedlight I recommend (for the Nikon system, of course. I have no experience with Canon/Pentax/Sony, sorry! Just take the equivalent model.)

Check it out here.

Once again, hope you guys get something useful out of it (might also want to check out the Basic Tutorials I put up). Also, mods, please feel free to move it if it is in the wrong location. Thanks a lot.

Chris

Default Re: Beginner’s Basics – Gear Recommendations and Reviews

Until you can make your tutorials generic and not a walking advertisement for Nikon, best to just post this in the Nikon section instead of a general category.
    Alpha

A pretty good effort and you do deserve a big pat on the back!
    Looking at it on the whole, I'd be hard-pressed to call it a 'walking advertisement for Nikon', though admittedly you do refer to the Nikon manual for explanation of some concepts. Hard to fault you there, since you have ready access to the Nikon material and assuming you're most familiar with it.

The explanation of stops of light and EV was a bit technical and abrupt too. I can imagine a newbie would struggle to grasp this part. Maybe some animated gifs to emphasize the point?