Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: needs recommendation on lens

Default needs recommendation on lens

hi all,

i am a dslr newbie

i will need a lens that can be used for taking moving people/object at a short distance-10m or so. i would like something that can do a close zoom to the upper body.
    btw, do i need a lens with usm at that high price? as people sometimes walk at fast pace

i am planning to get the 50mm 1.8 as it just me $100. will it be gd for a noob to take gd pics from it?

thx alot
    regards

Default Re: needs recommendation on lens

It would help if you provided some specific information -- are you using a crop/full-frame DSLR, what lenses you have now, etc.
    10m isn't really short distance. You wouldn't be able to get the crop you need with a 50mm lens. You'd need a tele or telezoom (55-250, 70-200).
    USM or conventional micromotor? Up to you of course. Do your own cost-benefit analysis. I have a 90s Canon USM lens that is incredibly quick. Had a Sigma 70-300 before that -- good image quality, but AF was terrible!
    BTW, 'people walking fast' 10m away should not be a problem -- bone up on your technique. If they are walking across your field of view, you will either need to keep them on the active focus point (or pre-focus). If they are walking towards/away from you, you can shoot with continuous AF (or pre-focus).

Blog Entries

With no other information provided, I would recommend the 24-70/2.8L

i m deciding to get the 7D with the 15-135mm kit lens or the 17-85 IS USM lens as my starter kit. The price of these 2 kits have a $400-500 in difference. Thus not planning to get the 24-70/2.8L which is too Exp

By the way, will it be a better combination for me to get the body with the 18-55 IS and the 55-250 IS compare over with the 2 kits??

But still thx for the recommendation so far

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by ErikaT