Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Sensor Dust Problem

  1. #1

    Default Sensor Dust Problem

    Good day everyone! i recently bought a Nikon D7000 and i am having issues with dust on my sensor. The dust particles will be very apparent after F8 and above. When i change lens my camera body is facing downwards and i change my lens in my room with no fan running. I already had went for sensor cleaning twice but the problem just keeps coming. And it seems it affects the right side of my screen only.

    Does anyone know why is this happening?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    dust is everywhere. I suggest you learn how to DIY clean. Instructions are in your manual. It's very simple, and a basic skill all DSLR owners should learn.
    Alpha

  3. #3

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    I did try to use a blower to blow the dust but it made the sensor even worse any methods you can recommend me?

  4. #4

    Default

    If I'm not wrong, if dust became more apparent when you stop down, the dust could be on/in your lens. Check your lens instead of your camera.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Digital cleaning is safer and more reliable than self physical cleaning if you do not know what you are doing. Both lightroom and photoshop have facilities to do this kind of touch up. If you are really bothered bring it to a professional or your respectively brand's service center and pay a nominal fee for cleaning.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  6. #6
    Member Irvine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North? South? East? West?
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MikuMiku View Post
    I did try to use a blower to blow the dust but it made
    the sensor even worse any methods you can recommend me?
    were u using the freebie blower u get after buying the camera? if that's the case, get a stronger blower. the freebie one is pretty weak. u can also search youtube on videos regarding sensor cleaning n do it yourself.
    Google is your friend. Make use of it.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by hengy View Post
    If I'm not wrong, if dust became more apparent when you stop down, the dust could be on/in your lens. Check your lens instead of your camera.
    Second this. If the dust is found on the sensor, it will show up regardless of aperture value, and at the exact same spot.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  8. #8

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by hengy View Post
    If I'm not wrong, if dust became more apparent when you stop down, the dust could be on/in your lens. Check your lens instead of your camera.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoh View Post
    Second this. If the dust is found on the sensor, it will show up regardless of aperture value, and at the exact same spot.
    Sorry, both wrong. Dust in lenses is almost impossible to ever spot in the picture. And if it's on the sensor, it can be impossible to spot at large apertures, you usually need to stop down to at least f/8.
    Alpha

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae

    Sorry, both wrong. Dust in lenses is almost impossible to ever spot in the picture. And if it's on the sensor, it can be impossible to spot at large apertures, you usually need to stop down to at least f/8.
    Yep that's correct. Unless the dust is the size of a beetle landing right in the middle of the lens when you shoot macro. Haha
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  10. #10

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    The dust only shows up when i am using a smaller aperture. Anyone knows where to get those CO2 gas canisters to use it on my sensor?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Err, is that advisable?
    I think a gitto rocket will do the jon
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    284

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    get a good blower too n make sure there's no dust in the blower

  13. #13
    Member Irvine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North? South? East? West?
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MikuMiku View Post
    The dust only shows up when i am using a smaller aperture. Anyone knows where to get those CO2 gas canisters to use it on my sensor?
    i rather u get a giottos rocket blower n blow the sensor. it's safe n the pressure of the air from the giottos is also strong. do note that blowing only remove dry dust. those dust spots tat have been "welded" to the sensor require wet cleaning methods to remove them
    Google is your friend. Make use of it.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MikuMiku View Post
    The dust only shows up when i am using a smaller aperture. Anyone knows where to get those CO2 gas canisters to use it on my sensor?
    NEVER use CO2 gas canisters!
    Alpha

  15. #15
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    It doesn't matter how you hold your camera when changing lenses. Do you want to rush home for lens change when shooting outside?
    Get a rocket blower, face down the cam and blow at the sensor. Note: activate the sensor cleaning function as described in your manual in order to flip up the mirror, open the shutter and expose the sensor. This is not the same as Ultrasonic sensor shake! Give also a few blows to the side you mentioned: if you look into the open lens mount at the sensor the right side of your pictures is also the right side of the sensor.
    EOS

  16. #16
    Senior Member TheChef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Where the action is
    Posts
    2,304

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MikuMiku View Post
    The dust only shows up when i am using a smaller aperture. Anyone knows where to get those CO2 gas canisters to use it on my sensor?
    You may get more than what you bargained for on your camera's sensor if you use this, e.g. water and other impurities. Damage may be irreversible. Haha....
    S5Pro|S3Pro|D50|16-85VR2|70-200VR|80-400VR|S50f1.4|105f2|135f2|SB900|SB80DX

  17. #17

    Default Re: Sensor Dust Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by MikuMiku View Post
    The dust only shows up when i am using a smaller aperture. Anyone knows where to get those CO2 gas canisters to use it on my sensor?
    my advise is to bring to the service centre and let the expert handle it if it bother you.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •