Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 37 of 37

Thread: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

  1. #21
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowseye View Post
    The base ISO for 450D is 100? Nice... Most previous gen nikon's base ISO are 200.
    There is now a Nikon 450D?

    Canon always has its base ISO at 100 - at least as far as I know for entry level.

  2. #22

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    I read somewhere that Canon's base ISO is 160, although the lowest is 100.
    Oh yea, i remember, i read it while researching on technicolour's Cinestyle picture style..it was mentioned that for Canon, shoot in multiples of 160, ie 160, 320 etc…according to them, the image quality is better at 160 than at 100…never really tried it out myself..

  3. #23
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by spinworkxroy View Post
    I read somewhere that Canon's base ISO is 160, although the lowest is 100.
    Oh yea, i remember, i read it while researching on technicolour's Cinestyle picture style..it was mentioned that for Canon, shoot in multiples of 160, ie 160, 320 etc…according to them, the image quality is better at 160 than at 100…never really tried it out myself..
    my canon only got 100, 200, 400, 800 and 1600... if got 160 so shiok!!
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  4. #24
    Member crystal1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Japan, Tokyo
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    My canon only got 100 200 400 800 1600 3200...i don't see any 160...
    Maybe cause mine entry level? =/

  5. #25
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by crystal1993 View Post
    My canon only got 100 200 400 800 1600 3200...i don't see any 160...
    Maybe cause mine entry level? =/
    we noob, dun have special iso numbers.
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  6. #26
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by bonrya View Post
    my canon only got 100, 200, 400, 800 and 1600... if got 160 so shiok!!
    Quote Originally Posted by crystal1993 View Post
    My canon only got 100 200 400 800 1600 3200...i don't see any 160...
    Maybe cause mine entry level? =/
    You gals can't choose ISO sensitivity in smaller steps?
    Maybe it's a menu setting somewhere.
    Exploring! :)

  7. #27
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    You gals can't choose ISO sensitivity in smaller steps?
    Maybe it's a menu setting somewhere.
    don't know about crystal's cam but mine def doesn't have that function. *__* don't even have live view, LOL
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  8. #28

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Should be a menu setting. Mine can switch between +/-1EV or match EV steps for ISO

  9. #29

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by bonrya View Post
    don't know about crystal's cam but mine def doesn't have that function. *__* don't even have live view, LOL
    Aside from your ixus, what's your cam again?

  10. #30

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by symmetrix View Post
    Should be a menu setting. Mine can switch between +/-1EV or match EV steps for ISO
    mine has ISO 101... ISO 102... all the way to ISO 11111111

    whew... it's hard to change ISO

  11. #31

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by kei1309 View Post
    mine has ISO 101... ISO 102... all the way to ISO 11111111

    whew... it's hard to change ISO
    you best be trollan

    dammit... I can only go using EV steps... up to 25600

  12. #32
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by symmetrix View Post
    Aside from your ixus, what's your cam again?
    i was talking about my ixus! i broke the screen so i can't see anything i shoot.
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  13. #33
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by crystal1993 View Post
    My canon only got 100 200 400 800 1600 3200...i don't see any 160...
    Maybe cause mine entry level? =/
    Somewhere, there is probably an option where you can change steps to 1/3 stops instead of 1/2 stops.

  14. #34
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by spinworkxroy View Post
    I read somewhere that Canon's base ISO is 160, although the lowest is 100.
    Oh yea, i remember, i read it while researching on technicolour's Cinestyle picture style..it was mentioned that for Canon, shoot in multiples of 160, ie 160, 320 etc…according to them, the image quality is better at 160 than at 100…never really tried it out myself..
    http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...2&changemode=1



    Suggest to take with pinch of salt. But no harm trying.

  15. #35
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    Quote Originally Posted by edutilos- View Post
    Somewhere, there is probably an option where you can change steps to 1/3 stops instead of 1/2 stops.
    http://www.learnslr.com/canon-xsi-gu...-13-increments

  16. #36
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    More discussion, this might only be applicable for video.

    http://marvelsfilm.wordpress.com/200...-and-iso-test/

  17. #37

    Default Re: Why are my shots noisy even with low ISO?

    actually there's a method to determine the truth whether iso 160 is the base iso. read it in some photo magazine. unfortunately i dont seems to be getting the same result. So yup i guess try in on ur own n determine if iso 160 is indeed the base iso for ur cam.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •