Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    36

    Default External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Where can I readily get a device such as this in Singapore? Prefer with pre-flash detection so it will not misfire...


    http://www.amazon.com/Neewer-Digital.../ref=pd_cp_e_1

  2. #2
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Just use Nikon. It has AWL (Advance Wireless Lighting)

    At least the more advance models support this function.

    You'd need to activate the CLS function on the onboard flash and also turn the flash into the remote mode. SB-600 and above only.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Just use Nikon. It has AWL (Advance Wireless Lighting)

    At least the more advance models support this function.

    You'd need to activate the CLS function on the onboard flash and also turn the flash into the remote mode. SB-600 and above only.
    Thanks for the suggestion but I just need a simple and cheap solution for my PnS..

  4. #4

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    what are you shooting.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    what are you shooting.
    What do you mean? My equipment or the things that I shoot?

  6. #6

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by gomaish View Post
    What do you mean? My equipment or the things that I shoot?
    2nd one. lol.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    2nd one. lol.
    Food and people

  8. #8

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    pretty hard since u don't get control over it. no difference from using a torchlight imo. correct me if i'm wrong.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    pretty hard since u don't get control over it. no difference from using a torchlight imo. correct me if i'm wrong.
    Doesn't really matter. Would love to use it for other creative shots as well.. So any idea where to purchase this locally?

  10. #10

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    I think it fires not through wireless but rather the slave flash has built in light detector. The moment your built in flash fires the slave flash will detect it and fires too.

    Locally not sure, may want to try ebay. For people I am not sure if the flash is going to be powerful enough unless is close up head shot.

  11. #11

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by gomaish View Post
    Doesn't really matter. Would love to use it for other creative shots as well.. So any idea where to purchase this locally?
    order from amazon.

    haven't seen any built in optical flash around this price in sg.

  12. #12

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    YN 460 does have a Slave 2 mode which ignores pre flash. It is very affordable too.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by gundamseed84 View Post
    I think it fires not through wireless but rather the slave flash has built in light detector. The moment your built in flash fires the slave flash will detect it and fires too.

    Locally not sure, may want to try ebay. For people I am not sure if the flash is going to be powerful enough unless is close up head shot.
    Yes I understand how it works. eBay not very cheap though compared to the link I posted above...

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    order from amazon.

    haven't seen any built in optical flash around this price in sg.
    SG don't have stock?

    Quote Originally Posted by chiangkxv View Post
    YN 460 does have a Slave 2 mode which ignores pre flash. It is very affordable too.
    $80+ kind of steep actually for the purpose of just a simple slave...

  14. #14

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by chiangkxv View Post
    YN 460 does have a Slave 2 mode which ignores pre flash. It is very affordable too.
    he is looking for something under $20.00.. i guess or there abouts. it's priced 11+ USD on amazon.

    haven't seen anything like this in SG particularly because it won't sell, im guessing.

  15. #15

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Just use Nikon. It has AWL (Advance Wireless Lighting)
    Even the old Minolta film SLR cameras had this (and now all Sony DSLRs).

    @TS, if you're not going to order from Amazon, then $80 for the Yongnuo is already considered cheap. Believe me, in photography, $80 is peanuts.
    Alpha

  16. #16
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by gomaish View Post
    $80+ kind of steep actually for the purpose of just a simple slave...
    Wah your expectations quite tough to match.
    I thought Yongnuo YN460 was already very well priced, considering build quality and features. It recycles pretty fast and has ability to control the output power over a number of levels.
    Exploring! :)

  17. #17
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    At this price range, there is no preflash detection. Take a look at suntax.

  18. #18
    Member Alan Chan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    561

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Nikon D700| 70-200mm f/2.8G VR2| 28-70mm f/2.8D| 85mm f/1.8G| 50mm f/1.8G| SB900/SB28| MB-D10

  19. #19

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Chan View Post
    he doesn't have a off cam flash.. 80 for a YN is to ex for him, even if he buys that no use.

  20. #20
    Member chooz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    264

    Default Re: External slave flash activated by inbuilt flash?

    Dealextreme has a few models...here is one for about USD15, can set to ignore different types of preflash. Reliable company but waiting for the item to arrive by mail is painfully slow (about 3 weeks.

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/digital...ack-2-aa-42436

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •