Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 52

Thread: Always blur image

  1. #21
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,859

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeronleow View Post
    Sorry I am a noob how do you post a pic with the EXIF? Do you printscreen the picture with the properties or there's a proper way to do?

    Anyway for the time being I will post the EXIF manually.



    F-Stop - f8
    Shutterspeed - 1/13
    ISO - 500
    Focal length - 28mm



    F-Stop - f8
    Shutterspeed - 1/400
    ISO - 100
    Focal length - 100mm



    F-Stop - f8
    Shutterspeed - 1/40
    ISO - 100
    Focal length - 120mm

    I realised after reading the EXIF that the last pic may be too slow a shutter speed for the focal length. Thank guys and please don't laugh at my pics!!
    u are using AV mode to shoot. the shutter speed should be good enough as it is determined by the camera. I guess is your focusing. it is done not correctly.

  2. #22
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeronleow View Post
    Sorry I am a noob how do you post a pic with the EXIF?.........
    The pictures you have posted have EXIF files in it

  3. #23
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeronleow View Post
    Sorry I am a noob how do you post a pic with the EXIF? Do you printscreen the picture with the properties or there's a proper way to do?

    Anyway for the time being I will post the EXIF manually.
    If the EXIF data is present in the file that you upload to photobucket (your image host), I can view it on my Firefox browser with the appropriate plug-in.
    Much more information than just aperture, shutter speed, ISO speed and focal length.
    Exploring! :)

  4. #24
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Always blur image

    example, pix #3

    Camera Maker: Canon
    Camera Model: Canon EOS 40D
    Image Date: 2011-05-05 12:13:40 (no TZ)
    Focal Length: 120mm
    Aperture: f/8.0
    Exposure Time: 0.025 s (1/40)
    ISO equiv: 100
    Exposure Bias: none
    Metering Mode: Matrix
    Exposure: aperture priority (semi-auto)
    White Balance: Auto
    Flash Fired: No (enforced)
    Orientation: Normal
    Color Space: sRGB
    GPS Coordinate: undefined, undefined
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  5. #25
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Always blur image

    What lens are you using? If the focal length is 120mm, it can't be the 17-85.

  6. #26

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Looks sharp enough. What do you mean by soft edges? Are you referring to the depth of field?
    Alpha

  7. #27
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by edutilos- View Post
    What lens are you using? If the focal length is 120mm, it can't be the 17-85.
    refer to post #14
    Exploring! :)

  8. #28
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Always blur image

    #1 and #3: shutter speed to slow for the focal length. At least #2 should not pose any issue in terms of shutter speed / focal length. JPG compression level 6 is a bit high, try to use maximum quality settings to retain image data. Downsizing can be done later, still.
    Next I'd recommend a focus test for the lens. Download a focus test chart, mount the camera on tripod, use bright daylight conditions and follow the instructions.
    EOS

  9. #29

    Default Re: Always blur image

    my observation.
    pic 1 and 2 looks ok.

    pic 3 look just a bit soft and probably this is the limit of your hand holding ability. probably you can up iso 2 stops to 400 to get a shutterspeed of 1/160. edit: you already know what's wrong with this one.

    pic 1 - you are probably thinking of how to get pic with sharpness like in photos taken by better photographers. Most probably will do some sort of sharpening during post processing of the photo. this is just one of the technique. you can google for the rest. http://www.photoshopsupport.com/tuto...harpening.html

    pic 2 - dog's arse look a lot sharper than the dog's forehead on its right. This is probably the dof didn't really quite reach from its head to its tail. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_of_field Usually, what I do is get the focusing point on the dog's head (preferably at the eyes). It is ok for the arse to be little bit out of focus.....or just adjust your aperture for a smaller hole for a larger dof.
    Last edited by coolthought; 16th May 2011 at 03:24 PM.
    Coolthought - 冷静思考 - クールだ http://xaa.xanga.com/0aba0666d143253.../t35917343.gif

  10. #30
    Member willdoang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    east, near dakota MRT
    Posts
    1,554

    Default Re: Always blur image

    i think number 1 & 2 is quite sharp but a bit underexposed maybe that's why u think it's not sharp, number 3 is clearly ur hand movement blur, watch out ur metering, try to put +/- EV to adjust exposure
    Last edited by willdoang; 16th May 2011 at 06:21 PM.
    i buy i sell i use, repeat, such are the vicious endless cycle of GAS

  11. #31
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Actually #2 looks sharp. #1 looks underexposed but seems ok. #3 is handshake blur.

  12. #32
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    refer to post #14
    I see.

    Well, megazooms aren't known for their sharpness, so you must have reasonable expectations first and foremost.

    Next, other than some of the self-observed problems (e.g. shutter speed not reasonable), looks like there are focusing errors. Maybe more than just posting up the photos mechanically, try to think about why people are asking you to post. Obviously the pictures are not to your expectations - how? Why? What's wrong with each picture? It's just like you complain that your car is no good, I say, show it to me... Obviously it's more than just producing the car out of thin air and saying "tada" right?

  13. #33

    Default Re: Always blur image

    I'm guessing that all the photos are straight out of camera, without any post-processing or sharpening done. All 3 photos lack contrast, which makes them look "unsharp". However, with a bit of post-processing to adjust contrast, as well as sharpening (USM, or unsharp mask), then the photos look crisper.
    e.g.




    Last edited by zaren; 16th May 2011 at 09:08 PM.
    you can buy better gear but you can't buy a better eye

  14. #34

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Zaren. Nice work there with the PP. A bit of pp make such a huge difference except for #3 which is soft at the first place and looks like this is the best for it yah?
    Coolthought - 冷静思考 - クールだ http://xaa.xanga.com/0aba0666d143253.../t35917343.gif

  15. #35

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by coolthought View Post
    Zaren. Nice work there with the PP. A bit of pp make such a huge difference except for #3 which is soft at the first place and looks like this is the best for it yah?
    Yes,the last pic has lost sharpness due to hand-shake due to handholding at low shutter speed. Increaseing the iso and shooting at a wider aperture, at a speed of 1/125s should result in a sharper image.
    you can buy better gear but you can't buy a better eye

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bukit Batok
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Thanks alot guys really appreciate each and every comment and suggestion. I am not using RAW because I don't know how to edit pictures I am mainly a hobbyist wanting to take better pictures.

    How to see if the picture is under exposed or not enough contrast? I can only see the difference only after the picture is edited.

    Let's say I am using AV mode and at 120mm focal length, however, TV is automatically set at, say, 1/20, which is a tad slow for the focal length. Do I bump up the ISO in this instance?
    Last edited by Jeronleow; 18th May 2011 at 02:44 AM.
    Canon EOS 40D, EF-S 17-85mm F4-5.6 IS USM, pending BG-E2N grip and Speedlite 580EX-II flash

  17. #37
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeronleow View Post
    Thanks alot guys really appreciate each and every comment and suggestion. I am not using RAW because I don't know how to edit pictures I am mainly a hobbyist wanting to take better pictures.

    How to see if the picture is under exposed or not enough contrast? I can only see the difference only after the picture is edited.

    Let's say I am using AV mode and at 120mm focal length, however, TV is automatically set at, say, 1/20, which is a tad slow for the focal length. Do I bump up the ISO in this instance?
    yes, you will have to bump up ISO.

    BTW most modern DSLR comes with auto ISO feature now. Maybe read up on your user manual and see if your camera has that feature.

  18. #38
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeronleow View Post
    How to see if the picture is under exposed or not enough contrast? I can only see the difference only after the picture is edited.
    The histogram helps for basic assessments of the image taken. It's described in your manual.

    Let's say I am using AV mode and at 120mm focal length, however, TV is automatically set at, say, 1/20, which is a tad slow for the focal length. Do I bump up the ISO in this instance?
    Av and Tv are modes, you can only use one at a time.
    If in Av mode, the shutter speed is set to 1/20s then this is the result of the aperture, ISO and metering mode. You can open up the aperture (if still possible) or increase ISO. Alternatively, a tripod helps to steady your camera to use 1/20s or even slower at this focal length. But this might not be possible in all situations (moving objects, space constraints).
    EOS

  19. #39
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,859

    Default Re: Always blur image

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post

    BTW most modern DSLR comes with auto ISO feature now. Maybe read up on your user manual and see if your camera has that feature.
    i dun really like the auto ISO feature.. cos sometimes it bump up ISO unnecessarily... I prefer to control the ISO myself.

  20. #40
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sinned79

    i dun really like the auto ISO feature.. cos sometimes it bump up ISO unnecessarily... I prefer to control the ISO myself.
    Not sure about canon. But in Nikon bodies, you can control how auto iso behaves.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •