Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 57

Thread: D700 Overexpose

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    173

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Spot metering meters neutral for the spot you are aiming at, and doesn't care whether every other thing in the picture looks properly exposed anot. That could be the reason.

    Try matrix and test again.

  2. #22

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    I try Matrix . i wanna know why my camera screen when magnified is blurry . & my user guide is in japanese . is that means a grey set that you guys talk about ?

    any pros & cons for grey set ? if yes , i would send back to ddelectronics tomorrow .

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    If you expect everything sharp at f/1.4, it will not be the case. The depth of field at f/1.4 is very shallow. When you shift slightly, you get out of focus already so the image turns out blurry.

    Do some readup, it'll help your understanding. Cheers.

    http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tut...h-of-field.htm

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    The pros and cons of grey set is not with the camera body but with the after service support. Grey items, like those from DD-electronics, will not be cover by local agent warranty. In another words, if you want your items to be serviced by local distributors, you will need to pay for it even if it's manufacturing faults. DD-electronics offer 30 days for 1 tot 1 exchange for manufacturing faults (I think), and 1 year shop warranty.

  5. #25

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Let say i use spot metering . If i want to focus a building . but i wanna have a correct expose for the whole scene . what should i do ?

  6. #26
    Member cirenaiht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    Im using spot metering .
    spot metering will only calculate the particular spot u aim and leave the rest under/over exposed..try to use matrix and see the difference..

    As for the soft focus, try some different aperture..heard that 50mm/1.4 is soft when it's wide open
    Last edited by cirenaiht; 12th May 2011 at 11:11 PM.

  7. #27

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    well , i guess i need to find the sweet spot for it .

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    Let say i use spot metering . If i want to focus a building . but i wanna have a correct expose for the whole scene . what should i do ?
    But why do u use spot metering???

  9. #29

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Wow, ur first dslr a d700? you are one lucky fella. Present day cameras do not have a dynamic range of our eyes, given that our eyes can see say 15 levels of dynamic range, digital cameras at best can only see 5. Thats why its v easy to have it blown out or have one part too dark until there is no detail. Therefore the sweet spots can be assisted by using fill flashes (if u shooting a person w a bright background) or even density filters, which can lower the sky's brightness etc so that the whole picture will lie within the dynamic range of the camera.

    Similarly you might wanna try film SLRs, i haven played much w them, but i heard their dynamic range goes up to 12 levels.

  10. #30
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    Im using spot metering .
    That is your problem right there. Please read up on your manual on the appropriate metering mode for different kinds of shots.

  11. #31
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    well , i guess i need to find the sweet spot for it .
    There is no sweet spot.

    Please read your camera's user manual to understand what the differnt modes of metering does.

    And you need to learn some photography basics as well. Here is a start:

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threads/309544-Photography-Notes-For-Newbies?p=3374333#post3374333

    Good luck.

  12. #32
    Senior Member geraldkhoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Tiny Red Dot
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk88 View Post
    Wow, ur first dslr a d700? you are one lucky fella. Present day cameras do not have a dynamic range of our eyes, given that our eyes can see say 15 levels of dynamic range, digital cameras at best can only see 5. Thats why its v easy to have it blown out or have one part too dark until there is no detail. Therefore the sweet spots can be assisted by using fill flashes (if u shooting a person w a bright background) or even density filters, which can lower the sky's brightness etc so that the whole picture will lie within the dynamic range of the camera.

    Similarly you might wanna try film SLRs, i haven played much w them, but i heard their dynamic range goes up to 12 levels.
    he mentioned he had a 5DMkII, so this is not his first DSLR
    A picture tells a thousand words... make yours speak a million!
    My Flickr | My Blog

  13. #33

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Wow, having gone through a 5DMII and a D700, you still do not know about photography basics? Do read through the camera manual, the english version can be downloaded from the Nikon website. Also, read through the basics posted by DD123, nothing to do with Nikon or Canon, the end result lies with you, the user.

  14. #34

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    Nikon have leave bad impression on me .
    Somehow I don't think the problem is with your camera...
    Team FX Nikon
    Pet peeve: The word is 'lens', not 'len'

  15. #35
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    There is no sweet spot.

    Please read your camera's user manual to understand what the differnt modes of metering does.

    And you need to learn some photography basics as well. Here is a start:

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threads/309544-Photography-Notes-For-Newbies?p=3374333#post3374333

    Good luck.
    seconds this.
    i thought ur supposed to use metering as a rough gauge and then compare with the histogram and correct accordingly?

  16. #36
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by nickzkcin View Post
    Somehow I don't think the problem is with your camera...
    ouch that hurts

  17. #37
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,633

    Default

    My suggestion is to use auto mode..
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bonrya
    My suggestion is to use auto mode..
    Sadly, he dun have that choice on a D700.
    Equipment: D800|D700|11-16|28-75|105 Micro VR|50 F1.4G|85 F1.8G
    Through the Lens of Cowseye

  19. #39
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by bonrya View Post
    My suggestion is to use auto mode..
    this is a valid suggestion, however, D700 don't have the "green" mode.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  20. #40
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: D700 Overexpose

    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    Most of the time whenever i take a shot , it would be so different from what i see and ended up over expose. im new user to nikon . my 5d mark ii doesnt seem to have this problem .

    im using 50mm 1.4G

    Can anybody help me out ?
    Quote Originally Posted by QQQQQzxc View Post
    I was in my room & i took a picture of my poster & its totally over expose . i think the metering system have problem !
    I use D700 too, didn't encounter such issue.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •