Thread: First len to go with my FM3a

Default First len to go with my FM3a

Hi,

Newbie here. My FM3a body just arrived yesterday from US. Now looking for a lens to go with it. As I will be using it more for general shots, so thinking of getting a standard type of lens (also tight on budget after getting the camera body). Any recommendation which lens should I buy first? And what is the average price? I don't mind if it is from 3rd party brand as long as it is work perfectly well with my FM3a.

The 45mm f/2.8P lens is featured in the manual. Is this a good lens? And will it be better if I get a zoom lens instead?

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by wizard_de_weird
    Hi,

Newbie here. My FM3a body just arrived yesterday from US. Now looking for a lens to go with it. As I will be using it more for general shots, so thinking of getting a standard type of lens (also tight on budget after getting the camera body). Any recommendation which lens should I buy first? And what is the average price? I don't mind if it is from 3rd party brand as long as it is work perfectly well with my FM3a.

The 45mm f/2.8P lens is featured in the manual. Is this a good lens? And will it be better if I get a zoom lens instead?

Thanks.
    If you dun mind a manual lens, some of these lens can be got at a much lower price than AF counter part. However, chances of getting them new is slimmer. **Note: most of these lens can't work with lower end AF body**

What do you wanna take with the camera? This will help us give better recommendation.

I'll be using it mostly for street photography and portrait. More of a casual use. I'm ok with manual lens as long as the pictures come out are good. Are the AI & AI-S type manual lens??

a 50/1.8 sells pretty cheap. stoned is selling a 75-150/3.5 e-series, gd lens. i'm tempted, but not interested in playing with zooms. maybe u can give it a gd home.