Thread: Topcon IC-1 user need help!

Talking Topcon IC-1 user need help!

I just bought a used Topcon IC-1 and the exterior condition looks good. Lens all ok except for some small bits of dirt/dust/what-nots in the sight glass. I'm a noob in phototaking and getting this vintage SLR is also a risk which I would like to embark on as I got it pretty cheap at Sungei Rd. Immediately bought it home and gave it some surface cleaning. Took out the lens for closer inspection. Everything's ok. All button functioning. Except for these :-
    1) when I open up the back cover, I noticed that there is a 'cloth' like thing covering the aperture.(correct me if I got the parts name wrong.) I remember my old point-and-shoot camera doesn't have anything covering it. I can even see the shutter move when I click it. But for this Topcon, what is this 'cloth' doing there? Further more, a small portion of it is kind o loose. So my question is, "Should I remove it? If so, how?"
    2) the battery compartment is a gonna as the previous owner left the battery inside to rot.
    I really hope someone can offer some good advice. Pls dun ask me to get another one.:P Or maybe some kind soul can show me the light as to where I can get it service at reasonable cost?
    3) Last question. Where to get the accessories? Like flash cable?
    Thanks a million for the kind soul who can help me. Kum sia.

Default Re: Topcon IC-1 user need help!

Quote Originally Posted by Diavonex View Post
    Awesome brought back memories my very first SLR before my Nikon F2 !
    5D/5D3/Zeiss/28-85/100 F2/200 F4/50 F1.4/70-200/24-85/85 F1.4
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/zeisser/

Quote Originally Posted by Zeisser View Post
    Awesome brought back memories my very first SLR before my Nikon F2 !
    I have the same feeling too

Quote Originally Posted by Diavonex View Post
    I have the same feeling too