Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 39 of 39

Thread: Resizing Photos for 4R prints

  1. #21
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiramisu
    (Misspelt on purpose )
    12R - 12" x 18" or 3600x5400
    S10R - 10" x 15" or 3000x4500
    10R - 10" x 12" or 3000x3600
    S8R - 8" x 12" or 2400x3600
    8R - 8" x 10" or 2400x3000
    6R - 6" x 8" or 1800x2400
    5R - 5" x 7" or 1500x2100
    4R - 6" x 4" or 1800x1200
    3R - 5" x 3.5" or 1500x1050
    What's the current dimension of your current image? Eg 3008 x 2000?

    For printing I never resize my images, I send as RAW/TIFF/JPEG for printing depending on the size I want to blow up to. (Ok, maybe I'm a bit KS, JPEG will do fine for S8R.)


    4R = 6:4 (1800 x 1200)

    If you do simple maths means 1800 / 300 x 1200 / 300 = 6 x 4. This is how you calculate the minimum size you need to send in for 4R prints.

    Any multiples of 300 will work fine as long as it's above 1800 x 1200. Eg: 2100 x 1500 etc etc as they're all in the ratio of 3:2.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Any multiples of 300 will work fine as long as it's above 1800 x 1200. Eg: 2100 x 1500 etc etc as they're all in the ratio of 3:2.
    Sorry to nitpick espn, but 2100 x 1500 doesn't have an aspect ratio of 3:2 - it's 2.8:2 (or 1.4:1, slightly off). The next size up I would go for would be 2400 x 1600 (3:2)

    edit: or 2100 x 1400 (if you increase the long end in multiples of 300, you should only increase the short end in multiple of 200 to keep the 3:2 aspect ratio)
    Last edited by gooseberry; 14th September 2004 at 10:23 AM.

  3. #23
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I failed my maths


  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by microsmic
    You're right...my photos got "cropped", even when they're at the recommended size of 1800X1200 Pixs.
    They need to crop a little bit (about 5%?) for borderless printing. If you print with borders, there should not be any cropping.

  5. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by contacted
    I input the figures(dimensions), then a box appears, so I drag around the screen and then press enter to have it cropped for a 4R print.
    Any advice to do it this way?

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    photozone
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jer
    Assuming you are using Photoshop...use the crop tool and set the measurements to 6" x 4" (or vice vesa) and resolution at 300 pixel/in. In this way, not matter how you pull, the ratio always stays at 3:2, at the same time, it will maintain the 4R print size


    PS, some lab may only requires a 150 pixel/in resolution, this would keep the file size smaller especially those that are sent online
    Hi

    sorry to dig up this thread after so long. been trying to find answer to cropping for 4R size just wondering any guru can advise how to set the crop tool measurement to 6" x 4" ? wud really appreciate it as need to crop a very important photo....thanks.

  7. #27

    Default

    I've been using DSLR for some time. Now friend asked me to help him resize his images from Sony digi cam b4 he sends to shop. I notice in PS that the size is 6" x 4.5" for a resolution of 432 pixels/inch. That gives a weird 3:2.25 ratio.

    Sorry, I have to ask this newbie question.

    Why can't compact digicams give 3:2 ratio like the DSLRs?? Grrr.. Sensor size issue?

    Ok, anyway, I have at hand almost 100 images. Even if I resize the images using batch processing, how can I ensure no heads, etc are cut off? Think it's crazy if I go thru every 100 or so images and do manual cropping!

    Any tips or advice here? Thanks!

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Westy
    Posts
    2,671

    Default

    if my understanding is not wrong...
    its due to the sensor size difference in compact p&s and dslr... =)

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Hi,

    Most P&S digicams do not capture in 3:2 format; though some do provide that option. My Olympus P&S does

    Anyway, the following was extracted from the internet (can't remember where). If your pictures are captured in smaller resolution, the photo shop may have no choice but to crop them to 3R. Then some heads and body may be cut off. But if you capture them in higher resolution, then the important thing is to crop them in 3:2 or 2:3 ratio. Basically, for my DSLR, I capture them in 5mp size and if I crop the pictures (to straighten; cut off necessary portion etc), I ensure that they maintain the ratio (for 4R). I use Paint Shop Pro and ACDSee. Quiet easy leh, I use Excel to help ensure the ratio is maintained. For example, if for landscape; if width is 2400, then ensure that height is 1600.

    If your pictures are captured in non-2:3 format, I think no choice but to lovingly crop them one by one to ensure no desirable cutting of head etc.

    Passport 35mm x 45mm 7:9 413 x 531 0.219
    3R 3.5" x 5" 7:10 1050 x 1500 1.575
    4R 4" x 6" 2:3 1200 x 1800 2.16
    5R 5" x 7" 5:7 1500 x 2100 3.15
    6R 6" x 8" 3:4 1800 x 2400 4.32
    8R 8" x 10" 4:5 2400 x 3000 7.20

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    5,711

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ~Arcanic~
    if my understanding is not wrong...
    its due to the sensor size difference in compact p&s and dslr... =)
    actually is the shape ratio different from DSLR...any size as long as maintain at 3:2 ratio.

  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    photozone
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by victor
    Hi

    sorry to dig up this thread after so long. been trying to find answer to cropping for 4R size just wondering any guru can advise how to set the crop tool measurement to 6" x 4" ? wud really appreciate it as need to crop a very important photo....thanks.

    hi

    can anyone pls help ?

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Westy
    Posts
    2,671

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by victor
    hi

    can anyone pls help ?
    ops... hehe, what prog u using? if you using PS, there is a crop tool icon, (looks like erm, 2 overlapping square lines thingy), just click on it, just below the file menu bar u can see the dimension (e.g width/height), just set them in the desired format and click and drag, you will not be able to drag the size any bigger then the diemension u set.. =)

    hope not too confusing... omg

  13. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    photozone
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ~Arcanic~
    ops... hehe, what prog u using? if you using PS, there is a crop tool icon, (looks like erm, 2 overlapping square lines thingy), just click on it, just below the file menu bar u can see the dimension (e.g width/height), just set them in the desired format and click and drag, you will not be able to drag the size any bigger then the diemension u set.. =)

    hope not too confusing... omg

    thx a million Arcanic

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    256

    Default

    for the fun of it, i once did an experiment printing 4Rs with the pixel dimension of 1200x1800. that being held constant, i made various copies of...

    1) jpeg files of different qualities from 50 to 100.
    2) tiff files of different compressions.
    3) adjust the file resolution from 72 to 400.

    if i recall, there were about 12 different versions in all. they were all created from the same picture file. at the end of the experiment when the pictures came back, there was NO DIFFERENCE at all in quality with all the different settings.

    as a designer, if we have no choice but to print direct from PS, we use a minimum of 200res. 300 would be safer. but i guess this is untrue for photos as the 72res file came out lookin as clear as the 400. even at the lowest quality and highest compression in the exported files, they came out lookin just as good.

    so, till i experiment with different pixel sizes, my conclusion of the experiment is
    1) at the 4R size, resolution does not matter (as in, dpi setting in ps) - even web setting of 72dpi prints well.
    2) at the 4R size, various compression levels does not matter.
    3) because at a larger pixel dimenison size (when u up the res) the quality does not improve, i would think that 1200x1800 is not the "minimum" pixel size needed for 4Rs, but the "minimum necessary" pixel count. anything above that's just extra bytes to burn.

    i wont know if "minimum necessary" is accurate till i experiment next time with pixel sizes lower than 1200x1800, without tweakin anything else.

    anyone tried this before, but got different results from mine?
    Last edited by uncleparty; 9th April 2005 at 09:20 PM.

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,717

    Default

    If using PS, you can do a Crop Tool Preset, say 4R portrait (4inches * 6 inches @ 300dpi (dot per inch) and then a 4R landscape (6*4@300dpi), subsequently you just select the crop tool, choose from the tool preset and drag to your content!

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,717

    Default

    Most printer prints at about 150dpi-250dpi. However, most people prefers to use 300dpi to be on safe side. anyway, file size not a lot of difference.

  17. #37

    Default

    Wow, this is just crazy man... I gotta go thru more than 100 images and crop them 1 by 1 to get 4R size/3:2 ratio?!!! No time man...

    Think I'll pass the images back to my friend and ask him to do it himself.. *sigh* Digital not quite there yet... at least for the compact digicams.

  18. #38

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi2
    Wow, this is just crazy man... I gotta go thru more than 100 images and crop them 1 by 1 to get 4R size/3:2 ratio?!!! No time man...

    Think I'll pass the images back to my friend and ask him to do it himself.. *sigh* Digital not quite there yet... at least for the compact digicams.
    look for a lab that does jumbo size 4r = 6x4.5. that woudl solve the problem.

  19. #39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi2
    Wow, this is just crazy man... I gotta go thru more than 100 images and crop them 1 by 1 to get 4R size/3:2 ratio?!!! No time man...

    Think I'll pass the images back to my friend and ask him to do it himself.. *sigh* Digital not quite there yet... at least for the compact digicams.

    if u have no need to retouch the file, you dont even need to open it. the sizes are just a minimum required size to print. they can do larger file sizes printed to your measley 4r.

    urgh...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •