Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 63

Thread: Which mode do you shoot in?

  1. #1

    Default Which mode do you shoot in?

    Hi guys,

    I just got my dslr about 2 weeks ago. Just being ambitious, I tried to shoot in manual mode, but it's too difficult.

    Just wondering, seasoned photographers like you guys, which mode do you guys normally shoot in? Manual, AV or TV etc. Do professionals always shoot in manual mode?

    Cheers!

  2. #2

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    P, for professional mode !

    But seriously, use the most appropriate mode for the situation. I use P or Av mostly, M sometimes (esp with flash/studio work). Tv not so much. It also depends on the system e.g. with Canon bodies flash exposure is different in P and Av.

    Making the choice depends on understanding how the mode affects your results. Most enthusiasts don't use the 'creative' modes (Landscape, Portrait etc) cause we want to be more involved in the decision-making process, and we know how to get the results in M, Av, Tv or P.

  3. #3
    Member Irvine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North? South? East? West?
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    n there r ppl who can still get great results on Auto mode too
    Google is your friend. Make use of it.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    try shooting in Auto and examine the settings set by the camera. then u switch to manual and use the same settings, sooner or later u'll understand how it works and know how to set in manual.

  5. #5
    Member FuraCelest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    104

    Default

    And just to add on, how about aperture priority? As i too am new in this i really cant get my shutter speeds right. But im able to play around with my aperture and ISO. Any advice?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    What do you mean by "cannot get my shutter speeds right"? Too slow leading to motion blur? In M mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by FuraCelest View Post
    And just to add on, how about aperture priority? As i too am new in this i really cant get my shutter speeds right. But im able to play around with my aperture and ISO. Any advice?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    Quote Originally Posted by FuraCelest View Post
    And just to add on, how about aperture priority? As i too am new in this i really cant get my shutter speeds right. But im able to play around with my aperture and ISO. Any advice?
    yap it's a good idea if u only want to control the aperture esp for f2.8 or f1.4 lenses, at the same time you can set its min shutter speed.

    if u wan to set (min) shutter speed, always set it faster than 1/focal legth of ur lens to minimise getting blurred images.
    Last edited by baggiolee; 2nd April 2011 at 11:04 PM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    Full manual all the way! =)
    Canon 6D | Canon 450D + Grip | EF 28 F1.8 | EF 85 F1.8 | Nissin 866 Flash

  9. #9
    Member FuraCelest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baggiolee

    yap it's a good idea if u only want to control the aperture esp for f2.8 or f1.4 lenses, at the same time you can set its min shutter speed.

    if u wan to set (min) shutter speed, always set it faster than 1/focal legth of ur lens to minimise getting blurred images.
    Yeah im using a nikon d90. When i switch to aperture priority, my shutter speed is auto calculated. As im still trying to figure out the relation between the iso, apeture and shutter speed. My pics will be underexposed or overexposed if i were to go fully on manual. So im no on semi auto with only the shutter speed on auto.

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwin Francis
    What do you mean by "cannot get my shutter speeds right"? Too slow leading to motion blur? In M mode?
    Yeah thats correct! Im sorry as im still getting to know the terms.

    Sent from my iPhone using ClubSNAP

  10. #10

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    @ FuraCelest:

    The meter functions in M mode as well -- if you follow it, you should be able to get the correct exposure just as you would in Av mode.

    I recommend you read this sticky at the top of the Newbies section:
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threa...es-For-Newbies

  11. #11
    Member FuraCelest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Edwin Francis
    @ FuraCelest:

    The meter functions in M mode as well -- if you follow it, you should be able to get the correct exposure just as you would in Av mode.

    I recommend you read this sticky at the top of the Newbies section:
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threa...es-For-Newbies
    Oh thanks alot for the link. As im using nikon my native functions are different than the canon. Were you referring to aperture value when u mentioned Av?

    Sent from my iPhone using ClubSNAP

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Thomas More's Vision
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    A mode.

    M mode when using remote flashes.

  13. #13

    Default

    AV mode mostly. Depth of field control most important for me.
    Plantwerkz - Beautiful Plants RandomJake- Fun
    Big Life Treats - Gift of Experience

  14. #14
    Member Irvine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North? South? East? West?
    Posts
    1,037

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    Quote Originally Posted by FuraCelest View Post
    Oh thanks alot for the link. As im using nikon my native functions are different than the canon. Were you referring to aperture value when u mentioned Av?

    Sent from my iPhone using ClubSNAP
    Av = aperture priority mode in canon terms.
    Google is your friend. Make use of it.

  15. #15
    Member FuraCelest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Irvine

    Av = aperture priority mode in canon terms.
    Oh ok. Im a nikon user.

    Sent from my iPhone using ClubSNAP

  16. #16
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    Quote Originally Posted by icy55 View Post
    I just got my dslr about 2 weeks ago. Just being ambitious, I tried to shoot in manual mode, but it's too difficult.
    Just wondering, seasoned photographers like you guys, which mode do you guys normally shoot in? Manual, AV or TV etc. Do professionals always shoot in manual mode?
    Doesn't matter whether seasoned or without herbs, professional or still wet: use the mode that you understand and that fits your situation, intention. In addition, do read your manual to understand how these modes work and what the differences are. Not all features / functions are available in all modes or you need to pay extra attention to them. If you don't understand the manual, read the newbies guides here. It helps to keep things simple in the beginning. Cameras are quite smart, they can do a lot of things literally 'out of the box'. Watch and learn.
    EOS

  17. #17

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    Yes me too! i get blur or really under or over exposed shots. Somehow in manual mode, my pictures never look as if they were taken using dslr camera. the pictures looked as if they can be very well taken using compact cameras which is kinda disappointing.

    Yes! I guess there's a lot of of trail and error involved. Maybe I should start of with the AV or P mode first, then slowly move up the ladder to M!

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Choa Chu Kang
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    Manual rock !!!!!!!

  19. #19

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    hmm?

    i use the "A" Mode. Auto Mode. therefore i don't have to wrack my brains.

    oh and scene modes help too

  20. #20
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Which mode do you shoot in?

    I use AUTO mode on all my cameras.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •