View Poll Results: handheld or use tripod for macro shots?

Voters
113. You may not vote on this poll
  • Handheld

    41 36.28%
  • Tripod

    72 63.72%
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 81 to 89 of 89

Thread: Tripod or handheld for macro?

  1. #81

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    Neither. Monopod. And i'm talking about insect macros at 1:1 magnification or more. With flash.

  2. #82
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    wow what an old tread! I bet it would be embarassing for some

    anyway I shoot most of my macros handheld and normally at 1:1 magnification
    which means that the object would appear the same size on a neg

    eg shooting a ruler at 1:1, the 10mm mark will still be 10mm on the negative

  3. #83
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    1,271

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    what a read!!

    i shoot with tripod most of the time because i suck in handholding.... still trying to perfect it
    and ditch my tripod...

    cheers...

  4. #84
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    West
    Posts
    681

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    wow what an old tread! I bet it would be embarassing for some

    anyway I shoot most of my macros handheld and normally at 1:1 magnification
    which means that the object would appear the same size on a neg

    eg shooting a ruler at 1:1, the 10mm mark will still be 10mm on the negative
    Hi Ortega,

    Just a side track. I'm still learning on macro. In order to get a 1:1 magnification. Do I need to shoot at a effective distance as specify by the lens?

  5. #85
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    Quote Originally Posted by shark View Post
    Hi Ortega,

    Just a side track. I'm still learning on macro. In order to get a 1:1 magnification. Do I need to shoot at a effective distance as specify by the lens?
    Yeah. Those dedicated macro lenses would have a scale for the macros. At least my Tamron 90mm does, from 1:10 (approx 1m) all the way to 1:1 (approx 0.29m)

    Don't have a tripod currently, so shooting my macros either handheld or with a monopod.

  6. #86

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    i shoot almost all my macros, even at 1:1, handheld.

    i use tripod with micro positioning plate only if the subject is "willing", thus i can do the setup. most bugs aren't, so i do it handheld .

  7. #87
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    Flash replace my tripod.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  8. #88
    Member/Tangshooter falconite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    AMK | Tang Shooters
    Posts
    2,203

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    Tripod..... I lost some "can-be" good shots to shakes. Well, if its hand-shots you are talking, remember that you have to credit your flash or other source of bright lights too - okie??!!

  9. #89

    Default Re: Tripod or handheld for macro?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpgutierrez18 View Post
    i shoot almost all my macros, even at 1:1, handheld.

    i use tripod with micro positioning plate only if the subject is "willing", thus i can do the setup. most bugs aren't, so i do it handheld .
    Oh! I was wondering what those markings on the QR plate for the MH-1200 were for o.O

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •