Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Street and Candids

Street and Candids Fleeting moments of everyday life captured ...

Old 13th August 2004   #1
xaer

Default A Tribute To our Older Sg Citizens

Hi...

...this is my first attempt on street shooting (People being the subjects) to share...

3. ...In Between the Legs..
Old 13th August 2004   #2
xaer

4. "All my PRECIOUS..."

Cheers and a Very Happy Weekend!
Old 13th August 2004   #3
JAG

nice series, is that a real snake?
Sponsored Link
Old 13th August 2004   #4
khairi

good first shot, but why the PS?
Old 13th August 2004   #5
sequitur

you should stop the color/bnw mix thing. it's very irritating. pure colour or pure black and white.

why the weird softness in the first pic ?? uncalled for.

these shots look okay... not exactly impressive or though provoking... but nice try. try harder next time.
Old 13th August 2004   #6
geoyip

Nice Series, I like the first shot alot well captured n nicely PSs
Old 13th August 2004   #7
Phildate

Originally Posted by sequitur
you should stop the color/bnw mix thing. it's very irritating. pure colour or pure black and white.
I say do what you want - there is no right or wrong in photography so if you like it, do it. I think that selective colouring is a useful technique that can be used to great effect.

Old 14th August 2004   #8
xaer

Originally Posted by JAG
nice series, is that a real snake?
No lah!...that fellow is quite a funny and friendly guy... I spoke to him personally... if you guys go there, don't miss shooting him... cool hair style too!

Originally Posted by khairi
good first shot, but why the PS?
eeer... actually, I am quite a newbie lah... so anyway... PS quite fun mah. Some more, people take effort to write software... so I take effort to try it lor. Anyway, I just want to learn the different technics and ways to play with pictures. Thx-u for your appreciation.

these shots look okay... not exactly impressive or though provoking... but nice try. try harder next time.
Originally Posted by Phildate
I say do what you want - there is no right or wrong in photography so if you like it, do it. I think that selective colouring is a useful technique that can be used to great effect.
Dear sequitur
I will have to run together with Phildate here
...For me, the concept of beauty has always been a debate that is hard to compromise. I think that's why in the definition of beauty, there is only 'preference' and not 'definite'... and I think Art has no Uniform.
Personally, I edit my pictures with my heart... I feel for pictures rather than think about it, and finally I just want to share the images that I took which made me feel happy, in hope that I can make other people feel happy too.
However, I can respect your preference over what you think is beautiful as your photo skills shows.

Originally Posted by geoyip
Nice Series, I like the first shot alot well captured n nicely PSs
Alamak! thx-u brother! and happy shooting too!

Cheers.
Old 16th August 2004   #9
Tagore

Default nice pictures. THank you man

Wonderful pictures!!
Old 16th August 2004   #10
tokrot

He is sharing his photos and his way of expressing his taking. I dun see anything wrong with his taste. Maybe you dun like them but your rude comments are really uncalled for. Neither is he asking for comments too.
Old 16th August 2004   #11
satan_18349

Originally Posted by tokrot
He is sharing his photos and his way of expressing his taking. I dun see anything wrong with his taste. Maybe you dun like them but your rude comments are really uncalled for. Neither is he asking for comments too.

I do agree thats quite rude using the word "irritating", although everyone are entitled to their own opinions but they should give constructive comments instead.
Old 16th August 2004   #12
benchang

Originally Posted by Phildate
so true!
Old 16th August 2004   #13
scanner

xaerm, interesting shots. Since you shot at the flea market, why don't you make it as a simple series out of it? Based on your shots, I assumed you are trying to illustrate to the audience of the daily life of these people. I think pictures with story line would be better to illustrate that.

Good work, keep it up.

Last edited by scanner; 16th August 2004 at 02:10 PM.
Old 16th August 2004   #14
LimCB

Originally Posted by xaer
No lah!...that fellow is quite a funny and friendly guy... I spoke to him personally... if you guys go there, don't miss shooting him... cool hair style too!

eeer... actually, I am quite a newbie lah... so anyway... PS quite fun mah. Some more, people take effort to write software... so I take effort to try it lor. Anyway, I just want to learn the different technics and ways to play with pictures. Thx-u for your appreciation.

Dear sequitur
I will have to run together with Phildate here
...For me, the concept of beauty has always been a debate that is hard to compromise. I think that's why in the definition of beauty, there is only 'preference' and not 'definite'... and I think Art has no Uniform.
Personally, I edit my pictures with my heart... I feel for pictures rather than think about it, and finally I just want to share the images that I took which made me feel happy, in hope that I can make other people feel happy too.
However, I can respect your preference over what you think is beautiful as your photo skills shows.

Alamak! thx-u brother! and happy shooting too!

Cheers.
What's the difference between Sequitur's comments and GeoYip's? Both were equally unconstructive or constructive at the same time. Why the different treatment to each of them? Sounds like you just want to hear the things you want to hear.
Old 16th August 2004   #15
LimCB

Originally Posted by satan_18349
I do agree thats quite rude using the word "irritating", although everyone are entitled to their own opinions but they should give constructive comments instead.
Is "wonderful" constructive?
Old 16th August 2004   #16
LimCB

And sequitur was sharing his comments and his way of expressing these comments. I don't see anything wrong with his taste also. Sequitur didn't ask for comments on his comments either.
Old 16th August 2004   #17
tokrot

Originally Posted by LimCB
And sequitur was sharing his comments and his way of expressing these comments. I don't see anything wrong with his taste also. Sequitur didn't ask for comments on his comments either.

I didnt comment on his comments.. I was to rebut him.

Let's see what I see his offensive comments as : See those words in bolded...

Quote:
[you should stop the color/bnw mix thing. it's very irritating. pure colour or pure black and white.
Much like a big daddy coaching his son...

Quote:
Double question marks and the word "weird"... Sound much like commanding officer to me..

Quote:
Sound pretty arrogance to me...

If that doesn't bother you, it's ok because my patience threshold is not as high as you. I see the way he replied was rather rude. No one ask for his photos to be trashed, moreover he said he was a newbie (1st time) taking street photographs. Be constructive and not offensive.

Last edited by tokrot; 16th August 2004 at 03:06 PM.
Old 16th August 2004   #18
xaer

What's the difference between Sequitur's comments and GeoYip's? Both were equally unconstructive or constructive at the same time. Why the different treatment to each of them? Sounds like you just want to hear the things you want to hear.
Dear Mr LimCB.

Contrary to "Sounds like you just want to hear the things you want to hear"...
I definitely appreciate good comments because it can be a motivator.

I can accept negative comments, PROVIDED that it comes from people who takes pride in their work or postings. And of course, provide criticism with a reason. That is why I rationalise and share my point of view with Sequitar (About Art and Beauty) from my point of view. From Sequitar's comments, I reviewed my pics and thought maybe my pictures were technically incorrect, and re-observe for details that he said to be "UNCALLED FOR"..... UNTIL I saw his postings at:

1. http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=87896
2. http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=87892

Of course, I would then ask: "Would he be someone whom I can learn BETTER photography from?" Gee... maybe the consensus on his postings are telling enough.

...If he is the type to believe that there are no Rules in Photography (I can accept that), then why is he making contradictory statements on other people's posting? Rationalise that.
Old 16th August 2004   #19
satan_18349

Is "wonderful" constructive?
haaa....whatever...go on...
Old 16th August 2004   #20
satan_18349

Be constructive and not offensive
Like to borrow your quote...
Closed Thread