Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

  1. #1

    Default Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Hi all like to ask all Nikon D90 user here. Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens. Will the D90 exposer meter work on AI lens.

    Many Thanks!!!
    Ros

  2. #2
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by Ros View Post
    Hi all like to ask all Nikon D90 user here. Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens. Will the D90 exposer meter work on AI lens.

    Many Thanks!!!
    Ros
    Nope, metering will not work... Only D7000 and above works with AI lenses.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Nope, metering will not work... Only D7000 and above works with AI lenses.
    what about AIS lenses?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Life is always waiting for the RIGHT moment...

  5. #5

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    For a D90 a AI and a AI-S lens are identical. The both mount on the D90 and they "work" but without exposure meter. Use the histogram to judge exposure
    Never forget rule 5
    My Flickr

  6. #6
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Or you can try to aid the metering with the help of a metering device. There's an app on iPhone that can also do this (light metering). I don't have iPhone, so I can't comment on that app.

    Gauging by using the histogram is going to waste a lot of unnecessary shots if you're not experienced in estimating the lighting requirements of the scene - although it is still workable. Personally I wouldn't waste my time, though it's up to individual preferences. I for one thinks it's already a hassle doing manual focusing for some occasions, imaging you have an additional step in trying to gauge accurate exposure... But hey, if its you cup of tea - go for it! It might hone your skills in setting accurate exposures without relying on the electronics! Shooting the old school way! Best if you can loan one for a try out. Some Ai/AiS lenses are not cheap.
    Last edited by kriegsketten; 25th March 2011 at 09:22 AM.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  7. #7
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Btw, not trying to discourage you from getting an Ai/Ais lens for your D90.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  8. #8
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    no metering...however, guestimation does get efficient with much practice. I use quite a few manual lens on D70 and relied on Histogram for metering. Though it's a review of the exposure rather than real-time, it's definitely better than none...haha..

    alternatively, you can get a Dandelion chip...think saw it on CS mass sales...
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  9. #9
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    no metering...however, guestimation does get efficient with much practice. I use quite a few manual lens on D70 and relied on Histogram for metering. Though it's a review of the exposure rather than real-time, it's definitely better than none...haha..

    alternatively, you can get a Dandelion chip...think saw it on CS mass sales...
    I guess you've honed your "manual" metering skills by now! Good job!

    I can't even get proper metering on M mode using AF-S lenses on first shoot... What a looser!

    Guess I ought to sucker myself into an Ai/AiS lens too...
    Last edited by kriegsketten; 25th March 2011 at 10:35 AM.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  10. #10
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten

    I guess you've honed your "manual" metering skills by now! Good job!

    I can't even get proper metering on M mode using AF-S lenses on first shoot... What a looser!

    Guess I ought to sucker myself into an Ai/AiS lens too...
    Can also use sunny 16 rule. Need practice tho.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    as mentioned, can use but no metering. So just rely on guestimation, Sunny 16 or light meter. I usually guess based on the light and adjust from there, else theres the iphone meter.

    The moment you are willing to step into the MF arena, the world opens up to you as you can play around with alot alot of older Nikkor gems which some have unique rendering, very different from the modern AF counterparts.

    Else if you wish, get the Dandelion chip for metering, and also a matt / split focusing screen. It will greatly improve the accuracy.
    ( Documenting the Human Condition | Flickr )

  12. #12
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    I guess you've honed your "manual" metering skills by now! Good job!

    I can't even get proper metering on M mode using AF-S lenses on first shoot... What a looser!

    Guess I ought to sucker myself into an Ai/AiS lens too...
    not sucker..if can af, I would use af too...haha...just tt some of the old lenses are really great for their price with trade off...I am more of a cheater la...I would shoot raw to allow some allowance in exposure..and with the D70, the shadow recovery was real good..thus, usually exposure was not a big prob if I am not too off ...focus part would be a challenge if unable to stop down too much... I used a split prism which really helped...
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    I use manual lens often on my D90. It is easy on digital because you can see the result instantly and based on that make adjustment. However you should have some knowledge of exposure. I am from old school but if you have not enjoyed yourself with BW tv before or don't know what is redifusion then it is best you study the exposures of photos taken with AF lens. It is difficult at first but enjoyable.

  14. #14
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by KYFoong View Post
    I use manual lens often on my D90. It is easy on digital because you can see the result instantly and based on that make adjustment. However you should have some knowledge of exposure. I am from old school but if you have not enjoyed yourself with BW tv before or don't know what is redifusion then it is best you study the exposures of photos taken with AF lens. It is difficult at first but enjoyable.
    sometimes accompanied with some sense of satisfaction/achievement I must say...haha..
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  15. #15
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Well, there is a way to test yourself out before getting the Ai/AiS lenses... Try shooting in M mode without looking down at the metering scale.... But I'm thoroughly spoilt by technology... need to convince myself I should do it just for the fun.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  16. #16

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    sometimes accompanied with some sense of satisfaction/achievement I must say...haha..
    Haha, "satisfaction / achievement"; well said. This is one incentive that I use manual lens...not only because I am old or rather old fashion (still young at heart).

  17. #17

    Default Re: Can D90 use Nikkor AI lens

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Or you can try to aid the metering with the help of a metering device. There's an app on iPhone that can also do this (light metering). I don't have iPhone, so I can't comment on that app.

    Gauging by using the histogram is going to waste a lot of unnecessary shots if you're not experienced in estimating the lighting requirements of the scene - although it is still workable. Personally I wouldn't waste my time, though it's up to individual preferences. I for one thinks it's already a hassle doing manual focusing for some occasions, imaging you have an additional step in trying to gauge accurate exposure... But hey, if its you cup of tea - go for it! It might hone your skills in setting accurate exposures without relying on the electronics! Shooting the old school way! Best if you can loan one for a try out. Some Ai/AiS lenses are not cheap.
    when i was using the FM2 as my work horse i knew within a stop what the exposure should be just by looking at the light... we lost this capability when using P, A and S mode... if you go back to M mode then you learn it again and you will not waste much time on the histogram
    Never forget rule 5
    My Flickr

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •