Thread: Vitacon 0.45X wide-angle/macro... Should I get it?

Default Vitacon 0.45X wide-angle/macro... Should I get it?

Hi guys, I'm a an amatuer photographer interested in doing macro photography. I came across a Vitacon 0.45X wide-angle/macro screw-in lens at Harbourfront centre, selling it at $120. Do you think its worth? What are the pros and cons for this lens?

Quote Originally Posted by newzealandhike
    Hi guys, I'm a an amatuer photographer interested in doing macro photography. I came across a Vitacon 0.45X wide-angle/macro screw-in lens at Harbourfront centre, selling it at $120. Do you think its worth? What are the pros and cons for this lens?
    Totally not worth it, these lenses are crap. I would not even pay $50 for them, the image they produce is just horrible.
    Last edited by spree86; 21st March 2011 at 05:24 PM.

Default Re: Vitacon 0.45X wide-angle/macro... Should I get it?

If it were so easy to convert a normal lens into either a macro or into a wide angle lens just by adding a simple screw-in lens then why do all these lens manufacturer produce all these different wide angle and macro lenses?
    Get it cheap in Buy & Sell here, have some fun toying around with it but don't expect any quality results.
    Existing thread: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/threa...on-your-camera
    EOS

Woah. Thanks guys. If I hadn't decided to ask for your help, I may had jumped and bought the lens.

So then what is the ideal solution to getting good macro photos (for an amatuer like me), other than true macro lenses that I can't afford?
    I looked around for extension tubes but can't find any in stores. If you know where I can get one, please do mention.

Thanks!

all you have to do is this:

1. Search on here for "Vitacon" and read.

2. Look in the Macro section for recommended low-cost setups. We have FAQs for a reason.
    Alpha