Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: iMac & Spyder

  1. #1
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Unhappy iMac & Spyder

    Hi,
    Would like to get the latest iMac with prefixed ATI Raedon graphic card in it. Would the sypder have a problem with loading the calibrated profile after the calibration?

    I have this problem with my old PC laptop with ATI Raedon gfx card with Sypder 2.
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  2. #2

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    Hi,
    Would like to get the latest iMac with prefixed ATI Raedon graphic card in it. Would the sypder have a problem with loading the calibrated profile after the calibration?

    I have this problem with my old PC laptop with ATI Raedon gfx card with Sypder 2.
    AFAIK iMAC's screen only allows brightness control, no contrast slider no RGB sliders... How to perform calibration?

    correct me if i am wrong.
    Fujifilm X-Pro2 Graphite, X-Pro1
    XF 14/2.8, 18/2, 23/2, 35/1.4, 56/1.2, 60/2.4, 55-200/3.5-4.8

  3. #3
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by yrh0413 View Post
    AFAIK iMAC's screen only allows brightness control, no contrast slider no RGB sliders... How to perform calibration?

    correct me if i am wrong.
    Calibration devices determine a "profile" which they make the monitor load. This is not adjustment via eye with a color chart.

  4. #4
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    Hi,
    Would like to get the latest iMac with prefixed ATI Raedon graphic card in it. Would the sypder have a problem with loading the calibrated profile after the calibration?

    I have this problem with my old PC laptop with ATI Raedon gfx card with Sypder 2.
    I don't understand why you have a problem of loading the profile. I run a PC system with ATI graphics and there is no issue...?

    Somebody else talking about PC systems with dual display and running ATI Graphics don't seem to have this problem with loading calibration profile, only making both monitors look the same, which is a separate issue..

    http://photo.net/digital-darkroom-forum/00GfI9

  5. #5

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by edutilos- View Post
    Calibration devices determine a "profile" which they make the monitor load. This is not adjustment via eye with a color chart.
    I believe it is the "user" in front of the display who determines the "profile". I have the spyder2pro with a calibrated Dell display, and there was a part where I need to adjust my RGB settings and stuff to make sure that the colors are close to "true" colors. After all the steps then only you will get your new "profile".

    That's why I am curious how does one calibrate an iMac.
    Fujifilm X-Pro2 Graphite, X-Pro1
    XF 14/2.8, 18/2, 23/2, 35/1.4, 56/1.2, 60/2.4, 55-200/3.5-4.8

  6. #6
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    so is calibrating an iMac necessary?
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  7. #7

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    Hi,
    Would like to get the latest iMac with prefixed ATI Raedon graphic card in it. Would the sypder have a problem with loading the calibrated profile after the calibration?

    I have this problem with my old PC laptop with ATI Raedon gfx card with Sypder 2.
    i had the same problem with my ati drivers that keep loading the ati profile instead of the spyder 2 profile. i end up not using either and calibrate the screen by eye instead. so far so good.

    but then i don't do fine art.

  8. #8
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    i had the same problem with my ati drivers that keep loading the ati profile instead of the spyder 2 profile. i end up not using either and calibrate the screen by eye instead. so far so good.

    but then i don't do fine art.
    You on iMac or PC?
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  9. #9
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    so is calibrating an iMac necessary?
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  10. #10

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    pc. i got a mac but i nvr bothered with the screen cos i dun use it for editing.

  11. #11

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    For iMac, you should use the Spyder3Elite for full calibration as the iMac does not have any external controls other than brightness. The Elite has a function called "Luminance Adjustment Automated for Mac" which the Pro doesn't.

    And to answer your question, yes, you'll have to calibrate your iMac.

  12. #12
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    Quote Originally Posted by VB2009 View Post
    For iMac, you should use the Spyder3Elite for full calibration as the iMac does not have any external controls other than brightness. The Elite has a function called "Luminance Adjustment Automated for Mac" which the Pro doesn't.

    And to answer your question, yes, you'll have to calibrate your iMac.
    How much would the Spyder3Elite cost then?
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  13. #13

    Default Re: iMac & Spyder

    I had the same issue a while back. Download the latest software from datacolor and it will resolve this issue on both Mac and pc.
    Any camera is fine. It is only the means of taking a photo - Daido Moriyama

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •